Sunday, December 5, 2010

Blog 75

Dear students of English 110,

If you are reading this right now, then that means you’re starting your journey of science fiction and blogging. Have fun with that. Haha I’m just messin’ with you. I’m supposed to tell you how I’ve developed as a writer, but I can’t say that I have completely developed into at least a ‘good’ writer. I’m still working on my writing skills, but Leslie did help me with my skills in a few ways. With the blogs, I have been able to lengthen my papers. Sometimes that’s a good thing, and other times, not quite so much. But I used to be the type of person that would sit down, get ready to start writing my paper, and completely freeze up. Another thing that helped was watching the show called Firefly. For this class, I was assigned to write in my blog about my thoughts of the show—not just summarizing it. Summarizing is a piece of cake, right? Well, analyzing a show is now easy too. Blogging helped a lot. Even though I admit that I whined a few times about them (Okay! Okay!! It was like 5 times..gosh!), blogging turned out to help me positively, especially when it came to easy points and extra credit.

Also, give science fiction shows a chance. The quarter will go by faster if you just watch it and get it over with. Try looking at it positively so writing blogs and papers about it won’t be painful. I was not a science fiction fan at all, and I can say that I’m not completely one still. But I had an open mind, and I actually came to enjoy Firefly more than I expected. I watched ALL of the episodes even though I didn’t have to.

Keep up with your blogging. Write them every day and pace yourself with the comments. Don’t wait until the last minute. It is awesome knowing that you have completed your 100 comments extremely early. I just sat down and wrote as many in one sitting as I could. I did about 20 a day sometimes, and they added up fast. And please don’t wait until the last minute to do your papers. I did that quite a few times, and the grade I received was a bummer. It wasn’t bad, but I could have done better if I had taken more time and visited Leslie during her office hours more. Speaking of office hours, USE THEM. Leslie is more than helpful when you go. It will take much stress off of you if you’re the type of person that doesn’t enjoy writing like I do.

So good luck and work hard, because you will receive the grade you DESERVE in the end.

Sarah

Blog 74

How do I feel about science fiction now as compared to when I first started this class? Well, I do give any science fiction shows a chance rather than judging it and saying that I will completely not like it. I can say that my favorite that I have had to watch was Firefly. I did try to give Battlestar Galactica and Caprica a chance and they weren’t all that bad. They still didn’t please me enough to want to watch them more though. But I’m not as judgmental and I can find good parts in them! So I guess what I’m trying to say is that I don’t completely whine and put on a disgusted face when someone says, “Hey! We’re going to be watching [insert science fiction movie/show title here!]” I really, really, really, reaaaaally enjoyed Firefly though. I’m really glad that Leslie introduced it to us. I’m pretty sure it’s one of my favorite shows and I am surprised at myself that I haven’t watched the movie for it yet. I will watch it someday. Firefly is one of the reasons I will probably not shoot down science fiction shows. I wish there were more shows like Firefly. Honestly, I wouldn’t choose to watch science fiction though. I would probably still choose comedy. I tried watching Buffy the Vampire Slayer and it didn’t work out. I’m rambling and running out of things to say. All I can talk about is Firefly so I guess that should tell you how I feel about science fiction……

Saturday, December 4, 2010

Blog 73

Yesterday, my dog got loose. My parents do not like animals in the house so I have to keep my doggies outside. It makes me sad but what can I do? I wish more than anything that they didn’t have to be chained up. Anyways, my dog Biscuit doesn't do well with my Aunt Toby's dog "Bear." She lives next door. The last three times Biscuit as gotten loose, he runs straight over and starts attacking Bear. We got lucky and another neighbor’s dog ran over and distracted Biscuit from attacking Bear. We also got lucky that his chain was still on him.

It frightens me and makes me think we should put our dog down. I checked on Bear and he is okay. He’s a large dog and handled him well, but that doesn’t make what Biscuit did to him okay. It seems like my Aunt Toby didn't even care. It’s sad that I'm more concerned about her dog than her and her family is. I love my animals but I'm afraid that I cannot trust them anymore--especially my two large sized dogs. They both aren't socialized enough to do well with other animals or with people that they do not know well. I'm terrified that Biscuit will get loose and kill Bear one day when no one is home to stop him. I think that he should be put down for safety reasons, but my sister Amanda gets mad at the thought of that because she thinks that he is HER dog. He is my dog as well though. I would be extremely upset but I’m concerned for people as well as other animals. I don’t know what he will do. Biscuit has never attacked another animal except for Bear, so how can I trust that he won’t hurt someone or something else?

What are your opinions?

Friday, December 3, 2010

Blog 72: Piercing gone wrong.

What a week I have had. I had a hard time sleeping this week. After class, my sleepiness and tiredness would kick in but I couldn’t get myself to fall asleep for a nap. I would just lay in bed for, what seemed like, forever. So I would eventually fall asleep around 3 or 4 and wake up for class at 8. So I did get enough sleep to function. I’m just used to sleeping 8+ hours and that’s why I felt so tired. So yesterday, I was planning on trying to go to bed early but that didn’t happen at all. I was about to go to bed, but remembered that I had to clean the piercing I got on the top of my ear. It recently got infected and yesterday the skin decided to grow over my earring. It’s like a barbell earring so the ball behind my ear is the one that got trapped. I then immediately freaked out, started crying, and tried to push it out. I couldn’t so I called my mom and she came up to help me along with my sister Vanessa and my brother Billy. It was 10pm after I got off the phone with my mommy and home is an hour and a half away. When they got to my apartment, my mom tried for a good while to get it out and then Vanessa tried. They then tag-teamed and got the ball to pierce through the infected skin. It was the worst pain that I’ve ever had seeing how it was just a ball ripping my skin open, not a pointy object. And the fact that it took them 2 hours to do so didn’t help ease the pain. After that, they took about 15 minutes trying to unhook the barbell. My ear was swollen so even barely touching it hurt. But all is good! They got it out in two hours and my mom cleaned and medicated it. And since I wasn’t feeling well I decided to go home since I only had one class today and it was review. I’m really thankful that even though they had to get up early, they came to help me and were there for me. We ended up getting home at around 2:30am and my mommy let me sleep in her oh-so-comfy bed. It’s honestly the most comfortable bed I’ve ever slept in. Then when I woke up my mommy made me breakfast. Oh and my piercing has already closed! So guys, make sure if you get piercings you keep an eye on them so you don’t have to go through the same experience. I’m so glad to have it out and take it as a learning experience.

Thursday, December 2, 2010

Blog 71

Today‘s blog is obviously about Caprica. I’m not sure how I feel about it. I can tell I liked it more than Battlestar Galactica because I was able to pay more attention to it. Again, the room settings caused me to not fully understand a few scenes that went on and sitting in the back didn’t help seeing that it was harder to hear, especially through typing noises. I guess the reason why I have a hard time really enjoying Science Fiction is because I tend to lack an imagination and I really enjoy comedy. That’s why it didn’t feel like a chore watching Firefly. Even though I didn’t loooove Caprica, I’m still wondering how everything ends. I’m wondering what will happen to Zoey. I wonder if there’s a twist and she is actually a human or if she will always simply be a virtual copy of the real Zoey. Okay, I have some questions. What were Zoey and her friends planning on doing? I really didn’t understand that. I knew that Zoey was smart when it came to computers but for some reason I had no idea that the boy was going to blow up that metro/subway thing. Can anyone explain that to me? Was this their plan or did the boy turn psycho? Also, what was up with that virtual night club? That club was for teenagers? Did Zoey make it or can other teens use it? Do all the kids have those “visual/virtual” glasses? I wish I knew more about that because if more kids had them, why would parents allow it? I don’t know. These shows tend to confuse me.

Tuesday, November 30, 2010

Blog 70

My parents have allowed my sister to drive their van up here so we can have a little bit of transportation and not be completely trapped in our apartment all week. Sometimes I just go outside, sit in our van, and call home or my boyfriend. It makes me feel at home. I know. You’re all probably thinking that I’m weird. I love home. At the end of class, a few students were talking about how much they loved Ohio State. I, on the other hand, don’t care for it as much. I would have loved to go to the community school at home. We’re all different, you know? But I’m up here at OSU because I have no option. I’ll save the details and say that my parents simply expect me to go here. So like the good daughter I try to be, I am here to make my parents happy for the most part. I just feel like I’m missing out on a lot being away from home. Okay! That’s enough sappy news! I’m so glad that we only have a good 10 more days here! Some of us less! And it’s supposed to snow this week! Even though I don’t really like the cold, I’d rather it snow than rain.

So has anyone seen that show called “Hole in the Wall?” It is hilarious! My sister and I were watching a few short clips of it. There is this huge wall with holes in it in the shape of human bodies and these contestants have to make these shapes with their own bodies. If they don’t then the wall pushes them into a pool of water. The contestant’s faces are priceless when they see a wall with a confusing pattern they have to form. I wish I could be on a show like that. I could only imagine how fun I’d have!

Monday, November 29, 2010

Blog 69

Tuesday's Blog:

I’m pretty sure we have another “blog about anything” blog until blog 71. That’s a good thing because I needed it. It is a little past midnight and I’m writing this blog to 1. Get it over with and 2. Get my mind off of the Theatre paper I’ve been working on all day. I need a break before I proofread it or else I’ll end up missing something because I’ve been staring at it for way too long! My paper had to be at least 3 pages double spaced but I ended up writing 5 pages. I’m sure if I hadn’t taken this English class my paper would have been only 3 pages. It’s just so much easier for me to write and write and write now. Leslie was definitely right when she said having to write a blog every day will help us when it comes to having to write lengthy papers. So, thank you Leslie! I’m getting a bit sleepy though. I have an oral quiz and composition for Spanish tomorrow. I’m in the first group for the speaking quiz which is a huge bummer. My teacher always does this to me. Lol. But my plans for tomorrow after class are: working on my CP revision, doing Spanish homework, and making a few changes to my individual memo. Hopefully my group gets our group memo done in class tomorrow. Oh, and I finally completed all 160 of my comments! YAY! Now you guys won’t have to deal with me filling up your inbox. By the way, sorry to those of you that I have done that to. It’s just easier to pick someone and read and comment on multiple blogs of theirs. That way you don’t have to keep searching and searching for blogs. Plus it allows you to leave more comments because you know which blogs you had left comments on so then you can find another victim and fill up their inbox! Haha okay I’m being ridiculous. It’s time to post this and finish my homework. Peace!

Blog 68

So can you believe it? After this blog we will only have 7 more blogs left! I can’t even believe that I have written a blog every day since the first day of English class! I’m glad they’re coming to an end though because I am definitely worn out. I still haven’t written my last 8 comments yet. I will probably do that today so I can get them out of the way. So I’m writing this blog to kill time while I wait for the bus. I figured that I might as well be productive! I will kill myself if I miss the bus though. I do like that we can text Cabs to see when the buses will arrive but it makes me mad that they arrive like 4-5 minutes earlier than their arrival time. I have a lot to do today. I have to finish revising my CP paper and write a three page paper for theatre. I’m a little nervous about that paper. I’ve been having dreams about teachers grading my papers/projects extremely hard. Ick! But today in theatre we aren’t doing anything besides watching groups who had created the best play perform their play for us. It confuses me as to why they get 3 extra credit points for being the TA’s favorite performance. Do they really need the extra credit? I don’t know. I’m just a tad bit upset about how the class is being graded for our play project. My whole group gets the same performance grade. Hey, it isn’t my fault the actor forgot his lines. The rest of us memorized our own lines. Oh well. I need to go catch the bus. Peace!

Sunday, November 28, 2010

Blog 67

I had an awesome day yesterday! I finished decorating my tree because I ended up being too tired to finish putting the ornaments on it on Friday because my mom and sister would not help me. It makes me sad that they’re getting too lazy to do those types of things with me anymore. I went to town with my boyfriend yesterday too! We went to Wal-Mart to look at radios. His was stolen from his car and the cheapest radio there was 95 dollars. I wanted to get him one for Christmas along with some other gifts but I don’t have much money. Well, we left after that because all the rude Wal-Mart shoppers were annoying me. We went to FYE and after that we went to Subway and got delicious subs. I don’t know why I hardly ever go there. Anyways, after we got done eating I said I wanted to go to JCPenney. He turned the opposite way and pulled into the movie theatres which put a big smile on my face. I hardly ever get to go to the movies and he always knows how to surprise me! He even kept calling his mom and saying he’d be over soon to make me think we would just go to his house after JCPenney. We ended up watching Tangled. It’s a Disney movie but it’s really cute! Haha I loved it. So if you’re ever up for watching a Disney movie then you should go watch it. We snuck in cookies, gummy bears, butterfingers and crème sodas. After the movie we realized that our crème sodas looked like beer. I promise they weren’t! Well, I have tons of homework to plow through today. I hate how I always wait until Sunday to do homework.

Friday, November 26, 2010

Blog 66

I’m writing Saturday’s blog a little early. Speaking of blogs, is anyone getting really annoyed with them as the quarter comes to an end? I really just don’t feel like writing them anymore. I’m still too lazy to write the 8 more comments to reach 160. I’m extremely burnt out on them.

I cannot believe we only have one more week of school and then it will be final’s week. I feel like everything is coming too fast and I wish we had a little bit more time to get all these projects and assignments done! I signed up for an online class for next quarter. Has anyone taken one? I’m really nervous about that decision and I don’t know if I want to go through with it.

I’m not sure if I’m ready for this cold weather. I haven’t been outside since I got home on Wednesday night. I’m avoiding having to go outside as much as possible because I just don’t want to be cold. Funny that I’m like that since I slept with the window open that’s RIGHT next to my bed. It was just so hot in our house last night. I’m pretty sure I’d rather be cold than be hot because I can find some way to warm myself up! Since I had the window open, I had a nice heavy blanket covering me up as I slept. It was the RIGHT temperature for me because I slept a good 10 hours. I went to bed before everyone and woke up last. :p

Blog 65

I had a nice Thanksgiving. Today, I woke up and ate some pumpkin pie! It was sooo good! I really wanted to go Black Friday shopping today but I have to use all the money I have for school, which is a huge bummer. I’ve never been shopping on Black Friday. I will probably only go Black Friday shopping when I get out of school and have a job….that allows me to have some spending money. It really makes me bummed that I can never get my family, friends, boyfriend, etc, gifts for the holidays. It’s a real downer and makes me feel horrible, but what can I do? I’m literally broke because I don’t have a job. It doesn’t seem like an option to have a job either because I don’t have a car and my parents wouldn’t be very happy if I weren’t putting all of my focus on school. So I’m even more pumped to get college out of the way and start my life. Well, it started snowing last night! That was pretty neat. It was the first sight of snow for me this winter! Welp, I get to put the tree up tonight! Woo. My mom got this 9 foot tree at a yard sale for like 5 bucks and she wants to try to fit it in our not-so-tall house. I don’t know how that’s going to work. We might just put our old tree up. I don’t know! We’ll make it work out somehow.

Thursday, November 25, 2010

Blog 64

I can’t believe we have to do a blog on Thanksgiving. I’m going to get this over with so I can help finish preparing the food and make an attempt to look nice. So, I woke up and helped my mommy make some homemade noodles. Mm! She’s a pretty awesome cook! And then my parents started to make our homemade mashed potatoes by chopping the raw potatoes into pieces to cook faster. My clumsy daddy chopped a nice portion of his thumb off. It’s the part above the finger nail. It’s really gross so he is banned from using knives. I got to clean a bunch of dishes that got dirtied up when we were cooking. I hate cleaning dishes. I’d rather be stuck doing laundry allllll day than have to do dishes. So, after that my mom realized that we ran out of salt. My grandma lives next door but is attending Thanksgiving dinner at my aunt’s house. So I told my daddy to go steal her salt since we have a key to her house. (Haha sometimes I go steal her cookies when she’s not home.) Well, that plan failed because she barely had any salt, which is odd. My grandma is the type of person who must be stocked in all foods and supplies. She’s crazy. So we went to a local market called Gibsons and got us some salt! YEAH! It’s been an okay day so far despite the rain. I can’t wait until my family is all together and ready to eat though. I’m starving…

I hope you all have an awesome Thanksgiving, though!

Wednesday, November 24, 2010

Blog 63

Guess what? I’m pretty bummed about my Commonplace paper. Rick was trying to cheer me up by saying, “Look! Your paper is second on the list!” I don’t really care if my paper was second. I’d rather have an awesome grade and have my name not even be on that list, you know? But whatever. So, guess who’s revising? You guessed it! Me. But on the bright side, since she put a limit on the extra credit comments, I only have to write 8 more to get a whopping 3 points! Woo! Haha I’m a little bummed.

So, I’m still on campus. I’ve been waiting for my daddy to get off work so I can go home. I was able to clean my whole apartment and now I’ve decided to do some homework while I wait for him. I hope he comes soon. I hate getting home late.

In other news, I went to my only class today. It was my Spanish 103 class. Only five students total showed up. My teacher laughed. She is a pretty awesome teacher. If any of you need to take Spanish 103, I highly recommend Beth McCallister. She’s probably my favorite teacher I’ve had at The Ohio State University. We played a Spanish version of Apples to Apples in two groups of three. Lucky me got to play with my teacher and another student. My teacher obviously won seeing that she’s fluent in Spanish. It was fun though! I like when I can tell how fun a class is when it feels like I had only been there for 10 minutes when in reality it was 50. Do you know what I mean? Well, my daddy just called! He’s finally on his way! Peace!

Tuesday, November 23, 2010

Blog 62

After watching the rest of Battlestar Galactica today, I suppose I don’t mind it as much as I thought I did. I think part of the reason I felt more interested in it this time was because I could see and hear it extremely well in the classroom that we were in. So I think it's safe to say that I had a better time watching BSG today than last Thursday. Anyways, did anyone catch the ending? I didn’t because I got distracted looking at the packet of papers our teacher gave us. I read online that they find out that that Sharon “Boomer” girl—the one that was shown to have a secret relationship with a chief dude—is a Cyclon. At first, I thought the scientist guy was blaming that one guy of being a cyclon for no reason. I didn’t really think that Number 6 was actually helping him. I read online that he really was a Cyclon. Apparently you can program Cyclons to think that they’re actually humans. And you can set a timer on them for when you want them to turn on people and realize that they aren't humans...I think. So I have a question: Did the scientist guy invent Cyclons? If so, how were they able to make “human Cyclons?” I’m still a little unclear about that. Is it like the robots turned against the humans and are trying to take over? That would be extremely terrifying if the same situation happened in reality. Oh and I can totally see how that paper we had to critique about BSG related the show to reality. I guess I would be able to lean of the “revise and resubmit” side now. :P Okay, nap time!!!

Monday, November 22, 2010

Blog 61

Hey there! So I worked on some extra commenting that I should’ve done this weekend. I was just extremely lazy though! I’m up to approximately 150. Hopefully this weekend coming up, I’ll have hit 200! w00t w00t! As the quarter comes to an end, I’m feeling lazier. I wish I could quit. I was on a roll with comments at the beginning and now I just don’t feel motivated even though I know I need as much extra credit as I can get!

So, who all is attending the Mirror Lake Jump!?!?!?! I’m still debating on whether or not I should go. I live too far away to be walking back to my apartment in wet clothes so my other option is changing in a nearby bathroom. I don’t know yet. Someone needs to persuade me!

What else? Oh, so I’m extremely nervous about getting my Commonplace paper back. All weekend I’ve been checking to see if she has posted our grades yet. She posted our ARP grades pretty fast, but I still haven’t received my grade. I thought she said that she would post them late Sunday. I don’t know. I hope I did well. It’d be awesome if somehow I magically got a 20 out of 20 but I do not want to get my hopes up. I would be extremely happy with a 17 or higher. I’m going to feel like crap if I get anything less. I guess that’s why I signed up for revisions anyway. Bleh. By the way, if you guys still have time, would you still mind reading my paper? I’d appreciate it! It’s in blogs 58/59/60! Peace!

Friday, November 19, 2010

Blog 60: CP part 3

LAST PART of MY CP PAPER!


So what are we, as citizens of America, coming to? The affects of not accepting homosexuality for what it is has gone way too far. Many suicides caused by humans bullying based on orientation have been taking place recently. One of the recent suicides that made the news occurred at Rutgers University in New Jersey. Tyler Clementi was one of the five victims of bullying who had committed suicide in a short span of three weeks. Tyler was tormented by his roommate who posted videos online of him having sexual intercourse with another man. After the videos were exposed, the teen then committed suicide by jumping off the George Washington Bridge on Tuesday, September 28th, 2010. How many suicides will it take to learn that degrading a gay person will not fixing our problems with homosexuality?

If you cannot have an open mind based on my personal experiences, then please try because you are an AMERICAN! If this social disapproval continues, I fear that we are not striding toward equality, but rather making a joke of own Constitution in touting hypocrisy. In my opinion, I don’t want to be labeled as an American if the definition of one is: a person who is disrespectful to others based on their own race, religion, gender, age, and/or sexual orientation.





Hopefully I posted all of my paper correctly. There are a few hyperlinks within my paper that I'm too lazy to do right now. Let me know what you think! The only thing I kept from my first rough draft was my personal anecdote so I'm really nervous about this HUGE change since a lot of my classmates liked the first draft. Anyways, I want to say thank you to anyone who has taken the time to look through it and give feedback. See you later!

Blog 59: CP part 2

CONTINUATION of my CP paper!

It seems that social acceptance is at the root of this. Feeling the need to hide one’s sexual preference through the government’s “Don’t ask, Don’t tell” military policy reminds me of the type of obstacles women and blacks once faced. Blacks were slaves, blacks couldn’t vote, blacks and whites couldn’t drink out of the same water fountain, women couldn’t vote, and women couldn’t have certain jobs because they weren’t considered equal. Right now, gays can’t be legally married in all states. Why? Because the legislatures don’t find gay marriage acceptable.

It seems ridiculous that someone could ever be told that it is not right to romantically love someone of the same sex just as it seems ridiculous to say that a black woman should not vote because she is black and a woman.

Homosexuals are human beings just as I am. Because they do not share the same orientation as me—being straight—doesn’t exclude them from being an American citizen. Simply put, a person’s orientation should not affect his or her right to be treated equally.

This then brings up a good question: What does it mean to be an American? Is it to not accept another fellow American for their beliefs? Is it to treat another human being horribly? I don’t think so. The Constitution, as you all should know, is an essential document for the United States of America that lists the laws and powers of our country. If one views it, they will find that there are no rights stated in the Constitution that are taken away because of a person’s orientation. So why judge and treat people differently because of it? As it declares, “all men are created equal,” right?

Blog 58: CP part 1

I finally feel less stressed about the end of this quarter. I got my paper finished and I got my theatre project out of the way. Since I’m doing a revision, I will post sections of my paper as blogs so I’d appreciate it if you guys could give me some feedback! Please give it a chance though!

All Men Are Created Equal—Unless You’re Gay

We all have them: those childhood memories we aren’t supposed to bring up ever again. Well, right here, right now, I’m going to share mine with you. When I was a little girl, around seven years old, I recall visiting my Aunt Candy's house for dinner. She lived with a woman named “Shauna,” but I never questioned her relationship with Shauna beyond housemates. As I looked around at pictures and trinkets that consumed their shelf space, I remember being perplexed over a particular photograph. In it, there was a crowd comprised of family and friends surrounding my Aunt Candy and Shauna. They were clad in white and embracing, so I knew something about the picture was special. Confused, I shouted: "Mommy! They're kissing! Girls don't kiss each other!" And you can bet that awkwardness ensued for the rest of the day. This photo was their wedding union. My mother tried her best to hush my curiosity, but that in no way stifled the obvious questions that, as an inquisitive child, I wanted and needed answered. My parents tried to answer all of my questions: Are girls allowed to kiss? How come we didn't go to the wedding? Is Shauna my aunt? Is Aunt Candy my uncle? This last question was sadly a question I needed answered due to misinformation and a lack of understanding of the world that surrounded me. I thought this because my aunt carries the more masculine features, and I was used to heterosexual couple characteristics.

Reflecting on this personal memory allows me to reconsider its implications. Since then, I’ve had the pleasure of meeting and becoming friends with people who obtain different sexual orientations, as well as learning of family members who are gay. Because I was raised by my parents to be accepting of all people, I have been able to obtain an open mind when it comes to the subject. For example, when I hear someone say phrases that use homosexuality to convey a negative meaning like “That’s so gay” or “You’re so gay,” I think about my family members who are gay, and I am immediately reminded of the tears they shed as they professed their sexual orientation. I remember hearing them say that they felt the need to keep this secret because they were afraid that the family and I would be ashamed. I recall learning that one of my family members went through a huge internal struggle with this realization, and I could physically see it as it was visible in the form of self-inflicted wounds. Overall, living and learning through these types of experiences have both allowed me to gain awareness and understanding of their situations and lives.

Thursday, November 18, 2010

Blog 57

Today was my first time viewing Battlestar Galactica. As of right now, I’m not as extremely interested for it like I was with Firefly. I’m not saying that I’m not giving it a chance either. It was just really hard to completely concentrate on it in class today. It probably didn’t help that I was in a classroom setting with three rows of computers in front of me and the noises of typing and clicking that came along. Did Cyclon 6 kill that baby though? What kind of mom would take her eyes off her baby in a crowded place? Why didn’t anyone see this cyclon lady do this? How come no one stopped her? I’m sorry. I don’t mean to pick that scene apart, but these are the types of questions I end up coming up with when watching movies and shows that want to portray reality. BSG wasn’t bad though. It had some interesting parts. I wish there was a more comedic feel to it, but I guess viewers wouldn’t take it as seriously. I'm just a comedy type of girl! So I didn’t know that Gaius Balter guy was a scientist. I can’t believe I didn’t catch that when we were watching it in class. I pretty much didn’t understand what Number 6 was using him for. Obviously she used him to get into the computer networks, but I never caught on that he was a famous scientist. I had to Wikipedia that. I’m guess I’m slow when it comes to watching or reading things that aren’t straightforward.

But, what if there were actual robots that had human features? Wouldn’t that be ridiculous? I hope they show the other human robots! And I hope there is more action because I’m not a big fan of just watching space ships fly around shooting other space ships.

Wednesday, November 17, 2010

Blog 56

I was able to be productive last night! I got all my Spanish homework completed, finished my Theatre paper, and worked on my production book! Now, today and tomorrow I just need to tackle my CP paper and memo. Hopefully that all goes well! So I signed up for my first writing center meeting. I did it at 1:30am so it took me longer to figure out how everything worked to sign up because I was a tad bit sleepy. But I reserved an appointment! You guys should also reserve early. I can’t believe how fast the spots are filling up!!! I’m glad I decided to do this early. I’m writing this blog while waiting for my Theatre lecture to begin and some dude just came up to me and said it was nice to see me. I was like, what? I don’t even know you! I didn’t say that, just thought it because people mistake me for other people all the time. But that wasn’t the case! He saw that I was wearing a hoodie with my high school’s name on it and told me he was from a school nearby. It’s really neat running into people from my county! I’m the only person from my high school class that is at OSU. The majority of my old classmates are at Shawnee, or the community college back home called OU-C. Sometimes I wish that I could’ve gone to my community college so I could be closer to home, but I received a scholarship here and took it. Okay, byee!

Tuesday, November 16, 2010

Blog 55

Today was such a long day. I just got back to my apartment. It’s 8pm and I am exhausted! I haven’t even had any time to study or do homework. I have a feeling I will be pulling an all-nighter. I have two papers to write by Thursday, our memo is due, and I need to make a WHOLE production book for my Theatre class which is due on Thursday as well. I also need to start on my Spanish homework. I have a feeling that I will have a quiz in Spanish tomorrow. I feel poopy. I did have a meeting with an education advisor today though. She said there was no “early childhood education” major. Whhaaa? I don’t get it, especially since she was the advisor for that. Oh, who knows? She was still helpful! She told me what classes I needed to start taking. She said if I wanted to finish on time, I’d have to start taking 4 classes every quarter. I really enjoy having three classes. They already fill up my stress levels. Haha! So how about that nice bomb threat? I hope that doesn’t happen again. I hated that my trips to class took even longer because the ways I usually go to class were closed off. Then there was the awesome rain to make my day even worse! I felt like I jumped into Mirror Lake today. My clothes were drenched. My shoes are soaked. I don’t have any other pair of shoes so I have no idea what I’m going to wear tomorrow. Oh and today was the day I decided to wear my mascara that ISN’T waterproof. I’ve just had a really off day.

Monday, November 15, 2010

Blog 54

I’m not sure how I feel about today. I know I didn’t do as well on my Spanish exam as I would have liked, but it’s over with and there isn’t anything I can do about it now. I went to visit our teacher during her office hours so she could give me some input on my Commonplace paper. I’m glad I went because she is always helpful and makes me feel not as stressed out about my papers and my grades. I talked with her and she said if I want to do revisions, I should just do revisions on my CP paper. As long as I do that and work on my extra comments, then I could possibly get an A in the class. That is SO AWESOME. My grade isn’t pleasing to see right now. Hopefully everything goes well. I’d be happy to have a B in this class, but let’s shoot for the A! I’ve been working on extra commenting. I have around 130 comments altogether now. I want to hit 200 and I think I will be able to if I take a day to do so every now and then. I need to get started on my final draft of my CP though so I don’t freak out about it on Thursday. I don’t want that at all. I need to stop procrastinating. I also have another paper due on Thursday too! I’m getting a headache stressing over school. So let’s talk about Christmas! I miss Christmas music. Since I’m up here, I don’t have a car and never get to hear it. It’s not the same listening to it online. But I did put up more Christmas lights this weekend! It looks so nice and I’m not even finished! Okay, I’m going to make me some food. BYE!

Saturday, November 13, 2010

Blog 53

Today is my baby brother’s birthday. He is thirteen and I cannot believe it. He is still my “baby” brother. It’s weird that he’s actually growing up and maturing. I used to not be able to have “deep” conversations with him about things because he didn’t understand or care yet, but now I can talk to him and it’s SO weird! I’m just not ready for him to grow up. That little buttmunch is taller than I am. He’s still really good at acting like a baby though. He is also extremely spoiled—more spoiled than me and my sisters because he’s the last child and he’s the only boy. I’ll admit that sometimes I get a bit jealous of how my parents and sister treat him verses how they treat me, but it doesn’t make me evil. For instance, I’ve been wearing the same shoes for 3 years. He got two new pairs of shoes for school and a new pair of basketball shoes. When I was growing up, I remember having to wear hand-me-down shoes. I just hope he doesn’t become materialistic. The boy has more clothes than I do. :p He’s a good brother though. He’s really hilarious and very smart.

Does anyone else think that the middle child syndrome exists? I feel like I go through it. I can see how the oldest, Vanessa, and the youngest, Billy, are treated differently than the middle kids, me and Amanda. My parents don’t see it. I don’t know. It’s something that I’ve always struggled with, even though I know my parents do love me.

Blog 52

My Friday was alright. My dad picked me up to go home and halfway home my sister calls me to tell me that she needs my buckID for the football game today (Saturday.) That was a big bummer. I didn’t get home until 7 because we had to turn around and go back to Cbus. My boyfriend came over to see me even though I was ridiculously tired. We watched Jumanji. I haven’t watched that in so long! I remember watching it when I was little and it scared me. I would definitely not be as brave as the kids were in that movie. Does anyone remember this movie? I guess I’m a bit of a realist so when it comes to…well, anything. So when I was watching it, I was like…how is that happening!? Who is playing the drums? How is that game making sounds? That’s not possible! So, it makes me sad that I don’t really have an imagination, or that I don’t use it. But it was a good movie!

It’s funny that the quarter is coming to the end and I wish I had more time! I have a Spanish exam on Monday! I have our CP paper due Thursday! I have to complete my production book and memorize my lines for my play on Thursday! AHHH. It’s coming way too fast! I hate feeling like I don’t have enough time to finish my homework assignments. I’m still excited for Christmas break! It means I’m closer to the end of this school year and closer to summer. That means I’m closer to graduating! I can’t wait until I graduate. Columbus will never feel like home to me.

Thursday, November 11, 2010

Blog 51

I’m going to do this next blog early. I had a good Veteran’s Day. I actually did some homework and I was able to clean my apartment! I had to meet up with my theatre group so we could work on performing our play. After we got done, I hung out with one of my group members named Nate. He’s a really cool dude! I’m happy that I’ve actually made a friend that I can hang out with outside of class. We did homework together, got some food to eat, and then he drove me home. Funny that it took until my second year to make a friend, but it’s all good! Wednesday night I went to watch a play called On the Shore of the Wide World. I had already read the play in class. It took less than an hour to read it. The play ended up lasting 2 and a half hours long. I kept spacing. It was kind of boring. It ended at 10pm and I didn’t get back to my apartment until 11. Silly me took the wrong bus. It eventually got me to the union though so I could then hop on the ER. The play bored me so much that I fell asleep right after I got to my apartment. Well, I finished all of my blog commenting a few days ago. That’s exciting! I need to start working on extra credit comments, though. Oh, I’m a bit lazy at the moment. Could anyone tell me when we’re supposed to email Leslie and let her know that we’re doing revisions? I forget what date we have to do it by. Thanks! Night!

Wednesday, November 10, 2010

Blog 50

I just came back from a Spanish conversation I had in Hagerty with a “teacher.” One of his students joined the conversation, not to practice Spanish but to suck up to the teacher. One of the teachers roommates also joined! It was one of the worst things I had to sit through in a while. He was the jocky teacher who wants everyone to like him because he thinks he’s cool, but isn’t afraid to make fun of you to make others laugh.

I hated every minute of it. He was supposed to have a conversation with me over the Chapters I’m learning so I can practice what I’ve been learning, right? Well all he and his friends talked about was sports, sports, and more sports. They also talked bad about people. When the teacher finally asked me a few questions so I could join in the conversation, his friend would interrupt and make fun of me because I’m not as fluent in Spanish as they are. They all didn’t care to make fun of me if I stumbled on a few words. I probably talked a good 7 minutes out of the whole 45. I’m so glad that’s over with and I don’t have to go back. I’m just really fed up with teachers! If you want that profession then DO your job! It doesn’t help to make fun of students or to talk about sports and going out to clubs and being stuck up.

I have to fill out this sheet to get extra credit for this Spanish conversation. All I have to do is write an 8-10 sentence summary in Spanish about what we talked about. This should be fun.

Tuesday, November 9, 2010

Blog 49

What happens to our blogger when we’re done with English? Are some of us going to keep writing in it? Or are we going to disable them? I think it’d be neat if we actually wrote in them once in a while to see how everyone’s doing. Then again, I’m sure we’ll be busy with other things. So, it most likely won’t happen.

So, I’m getting an early blog in. I was commenting on some blogs but now I’m a tad bit bored with that so I thought I might as well get tomorrow’s blog out of the way! I was so pumped to have Thursday off but I have to meet with my Theatre group to work on our project. Bummer, right? But I rather have an A than some relaxation time! I’m sure it won’t last long and it’s probably better that I’ll be productive.

I think writing is a real confidence killer for me. Getting graded on what I write makes me doubt myself. I think that’s why I don’t enjoy writing. I hate when people stab me in the face with negative comments. I guess it’s good to have feedback but it makes me feel like I’m the worst writer in the whole wide world. I thought it would be impossible for me to fail English. Well, apparently I suck at it. So I’m doing some extra credit..ing. Yes. I realized that I’d only have to do 10 extra comments to get a whopping 5.5 points. It’s crazy that I’d have to do 90 more to get the other half. Wait. Am I doing it that right? Is she counting the comments we already have? I know she said in class if we did 200 comments total, divided it by 100, and multiplied it by 5 then we would get 10 extra credit points. Or am I wrong? Did she mean 200 MORE comments? Or 200 altogether? Well, now I am just confused. Well poop.

Blog 48

So I totally went through “freshman fifteen” last year. Well, I didn’t gain 15 pounds, but I did put on some weight. It was hard to keep it off, with all the stress and using my entire meal plan. I don’t have to worry about the meal plan affecting my weight this year, but I’m still a little nervous about my eating habits. I’m not big on running or exercising. The majority of my exercise is walking to and from class. I didn’t have this problem in high school because I participated in sports and other activities. I was always keeping myself busy, but I just feel really crappy and lazy now. I live a good 25 minutes away from campus so I don’t even consider going to the gym. Any suggestions? I don’t want to go through “sophomore fifteen more” this year. I spend most of my time in my apartment doing school work and I don’t know any meals I should start cooking that aren’t ridiculously unhealthy. I recently started drinking green tea. I know that’s good for you. I stopped drinking pop a while ago and have started drinking it again so I’m trying to get away from that. I don’t know. I just like the summers because I don’t have all the stress of school following me and I go do things! I ride my bike! I play sports! I walk my doggies. I do things! It’s great because I don’t feel so icky and unhealthy!

You guys think I should sign up for a fun class? I was actually thinking about doing badminton or ice skating. I don’t know which classes are actually open for winter but I was thinking maybe it would make me feel better. Have any of you taken one of those classes? I’m a little nervous about signing up. They seem so much fun though!

Monday, November 8, 2010

Blog 47: Signing up for classes

I spent my whole day signing up for classes. I’m just now getting started on homework. I mean, signing up for classes isn’t a big deal, unless you don’t have a major. I was planning on going through with nursing but I felt like I was only doing it for the money. It was a rough day for me. I got so frustrated when trying to sign up, I cried like a big baby. My big sister Vanessa calmed me down and spoke with me. We ended talking about majors and I think I want to do early childhood education. I mean, the material would definitely be more relaxed and when given the opportunity to be around young kids, I’ve done great. I feel so much better now that I have a direction I want to go. Plus I get summers off! Yippee!!! So I’m taking Astronomy 161, Anthropology 202?, and History 151. I’m not quite sure on the exact numbers and I’m too lazy to look it up, but I plan on scheduling a meeting tomorrow morning with the education advisors to see if they approve and what to do to apply to the school. I’m pretty sure it’ll be a piece of cake. Then I can schedule an education class in there! I still can’t believe I spent all day signing up for classes. Sheesh. It stressed me out so much that I haven’t had a single thing to eat yet. Well, don’t forget we don’t have classes on Thursday! YAY! 32 more days!

Sunday, November 7, 2010

Blog 46

I’m so excited for Christmas! It’s been a good amount of years that I haven’t been showing my “Christmas” spirit, but I can tell that this year is going to be completely different. I put some Christmas lights up already. I know, it’s waaayy too early but it’s not like I’m going to plug them in and light them up until after Thanksgiving. Next weekend, I think I’ll put some more up! I’m so excited! When I was in middle school, I used to love putting lights up. My mom and I would go all out and compete with the neighbors on decorating for Christmas. Then I got older and lazier and so we stopped. But I’m so glad I have the urge to decorate again! My mom said she would even help me, like old times!

I spent almost all day outside. We are working on our garage so we can build rooms in it and eventually build a room connecting to our house. I don’t know when it will get finished. It probably won’t any time soon, but it’s great having projects like this. It gives my family much more time to bond and be together.

Okay. Well, I’m going to finish this up. I still have to shower and go to town to buy some groceries! I have none in my apartment. Ugh, it’s no fun shopping when you have to spend your own money. And then I have to go all the way back to Columbus! I’m in Chillicothe right now, which is an hour and a half away. I always go home every weekend. But I’m so glad we gained an hour! I feel like today’s been extremely productive AND I still have an hour more to get stuff done. Have a nice night, guys!

Saturday, November 6, 2010

Blog 45

Okay, I’m pretty sure today’s blog is free writing. I hope so or I’ll feel stupid. I’m not sure what to blog about. I'm writing  it pretty quick so randomness will happen. Sorry! I am just busy, busy, busy! Anyways, I asked my sister what I should write about and she said how I bury my fish when they die. Most people flush their fishies down the toilet when they die, but I actually go outside and give them a nice funeral. I get sad when any of my pets are in pain, dying, and/or die. When my first fish died, my father told me to flush it down the toilet, because that’s what a lot of people do, right? Well, I refused. How come my poor fishie had to go down the toilet and not be buried in the ground with my other pets that had passed away? I used to have a hen as a pet when I was little. She had died one morning. I think it was because she was getting old. Well, my sister and I dug a hole and placed her in it. We said our goodbyes and covered her up. We always step on the dirt so no animals will dig them out. Well, when I went to step on the dirt over her, she started making noise. I thought she was alive and I was in shock. I was stepping on my poor chicken and she can’t breathe! Amanda then explained that it was just the air coming out of her. What a confused little girl I was. :p

Friday, November 5, 2010

Blog 44

It was nice seeing your opinions on my title. Some of you judged the topic more than the title, but hey, that’s all right. Although most of you liked that my title, Accepting Homosexuality, was interesting and intriguing, you also said it was boring which doesn’t make sense. :P But it’s all good! I already knew it was a bit bland. One of the top suggestions was: Somewhere Over the Rainbow. I thought that was cute! Kudos for you! A funny suggestion was: Hot Girl on Girl Action. I’m guessing a guy wrote this. While it was funny and sparks a person’s interest, I don’t think it’ll fit well with my paper. But thanks for the suggestions you guys!

So, I finally picked a title and revised...well, tweaked my intro. Hope you enjoy it! Tell me what you think.

"All Men Are Created Equal--Unless You're Gay"

We all have them: those childhood memories we aren’t supposed to bring up ever again. Well, right here, right now, I’m going to share mine with you. When I was a little girl, around seven years old, I recall visiting my Aunt Candy's house for dinner. She lived with a woman named “Shauna,” but I never questioned her relationship with Shauna beyond housemates. As I looked around at pictures and trinkets that consumed their shelf space, I remember being perplexed over a particular photograph. In it, there was a crowd comprised of family and friends surrounding my Aunt Candy and Shauna. They were clad in white and embracing, so I knew something about the picture was special. Confused, I shouted: "Mommy! They're kissing! Girls don't kiss each other!" Awkwardness ensued for the rest of the day. This photo was their wedding union. My mother tried her best to hush my curiosity, but that in no way stifled the obvious questions that, as an inquisitive child, I wanted and needed answered. My parents tried to answer all of my questions: Are girls allowed to kiss? How come we didn't go to the wedding? Is Shauna my aunt? Is Aunt Candy my uncle? This last question was sadly a question I needed answered due to misinformation and a lack of understanding of the world that surrounded me. I thought this because my aunt carries the more masculine features, and I was used to heterosexual couple characteristics. Reflecting on this personal memory allows me to reconsider its implications.

Thursday, November 4, 2010

Blog 43

I know it’s good to revise and such, but it’s a bummer we already have to revise our rough draft and have another copy by…Tuesday? Really? I wish we could get some feedback on them first, you know? So, I’m not doing as well as I’d like in English. Bummer. I plan to do all the blogs and a few extra blogs but it just seems like a huge load. I want to do at least 50 extra because 7.5 points sounds pretty cool to me, but ugh! I just want them to make up for the points I lost on my rough drafts. I plan on doing revisions. This end of the quarter is looking pretty busy to me. Did the board today say we have to revise our title and intro for tomorrow’s blog? I like my intro. It’s my personal anecdote, but I’m sure I can figure something out.

So I used to live in Morrison Tower on the 7th floor. My dorm was a three person room so we had windows facing the street with an awesome view. I really miss that. The view I have in my apartment now is a brick wall. It’s really disappointing always having a dark apartment. I wish I could see outside. I can’t ever tell what the weather will be like and I don’t get to see cars driving by or people walking by. I feel like I’m in a prison cell. That is definitely one thing I miss about my dorm room. I wonder who’s living in there now. I can still picture how everything was placed in it. I guess you could say I’m still a little attached. Sometimes when I get out of class, I start walking in the direction of South campus and then realize I live In East Residential. But the plus side is that I don’t have to share a public bathroom! And I have a kitchen where I can cook! The walls are really thick so I never have to worry about singing ridiculously loud and making my neighbors angry. And I don’t have to worry about noisy neighbors! Well, a nap is calling my name. Peace!

Wednesday, November 3, 2010

Blog 42

I just wanted to let you guys know that we have 39 days until Winter break! This is until December 10th by the way so it may be less AND it’s including the weekends! I’m so excited! I love having breaks. I’m also excited for Thanksgiving. My family is cooking at our house and we invited other family and friends to join us. My mom always cooks delicious foods! She makes homemade noodles and mashed potatoes! Yum! And she cooks a turkey and ham. We have other dishes as well, but those are obviously the top foods on the table. I have this problem on Thanksgiving where I eat, get full, get bored, eat again, ALREADY FULL, get bored, eat again. Anyone know what I mean? It’s just the day where my body wants to eat all the time. I can’t help it. All that food stares at me! So I talked with my mother last night and she said she bought a really nice Christmas tree at a yard sale for 10 bucks I think? She said it’s really pretty and it’s 9 foot tall. I have no idea where she is going to put it. I don’t even know if our living room is 9 foot tall! But she’s my mother and she will find a way, as usual. She said we could put it up on the Friday after Thanksgiving! I always love putting up the tree. We used to do it as a family but I usually end up putting it up by myself with someone else’s help. I even put up my grandma’s tree. She lives next door so I help her out a lot. So as you can tell, I have a fake tree. Which do you guys prefer? I’ve never had a real tree but I really like the “fake” ones. We always get fake trees and people think they look real so it’s always a win!

Tuesday, November 2, 2010

Blog 41

Well, in Theatre class today we have to form groups and write a play and perform it. We just discussed our ideas on what we want to perform and the teacher has already made a rough draft due on Thursday. We were even missing a member in our group. I hate when people do that. I know that in some cases, people do miss class because of emergencies but who knows? The show must go on. The crappy thing about this Theatre project is that my group only has time to meet up with each other on the weekends. I go home every weekend. So that’s a real bummer but I am willing to be responsible and dependable for my group, and more importantly, my grade.

So I didn’t vote today. I am sorry for whoever is now mad at me for not doing so. I never really cared about politics and such. My father said I’ll start caring when I have to worry about money. He wanted me to vote but I didn’t do any research about anything. I’d feel horrible voting for someone I didn’t know anything about. Plus I’m not registered, but I plan to do some voting in the future!

You know, I didn’t know sites like hulu.com existed until this English class. I’m really glad I found out about it though! I love watching television but I don’t have any because that costs money. I miss it terribly. Hulu.com makes me feel better about that situation because I can still watch some shows! Well, it’s about time for my nap! Bye.

Monday, November 1, 2010

Blog 40

Today is just one of those days. I’ve been in bed since I finished class for the day. I think I’m getting sick so I’m glad we don’t have class tomorrow so I can get some sleep. Hopefully I will start feeling better sometime soon!

Last night was a pain in my butt. My computer has been acting funky. Last night after I posted my blog, my internet stopped working. I had connection but it wouldn’t let me use it. I wanted to smash my computer with a hammer. It made me very upset and worried that I wouldn’t have a computer this week. Amanda, my sister, is good with fixing computers but it’s not much help if she’s not around to look at it. So, this morning I woke up and messed with it for another hour. I finally got it to work which led to a big sigh of relief! My other sister, Vanessa also helped me fix another problem I’m having with it. Whenever I would go to search engines like yahoo.com or google.com and I would search something and click on the link, it would take me to some spam website. It’s fixed though! I need to buy some anti-virus software though. Anyone have any suggestions? Can I get any of that from campus with a student discount? I thought someone told me that before. Oh, and I promise I haven’t been looking at bad websites and I don’t download stuff! My family keeps making jokes about that. It’s funny, but not true. :P

Okay, well I’m going to order some Dominos with Amanda. Today is a poopy day and hopefully yummy food will make me feel better!

Sunday, October 31, 2010

Blog 39

Today I went to Tuttle Mall with my boyfriend, Daniel, and his family. I had tons of fun. I didn’t buy anything, but Daniel bought me shoes that I wanted. It was a surprise, and he’s really really reallyyyy realllly good at surprising me. He’s very sneaky about it. Anyways, we got these huge, yummy burritos to eat there. Ugh, I just ate the other half and I kind of regret it.  But it was really fun! I wish I could’ve stayed at the Mall longer, but I had to get home to do some homework! Gotta love it!....not. Yesterday I went to the Halloween parade. That was tons of fun! Daniel and I ended up getting sooo much candy! It’s like I went trick-or-treating! It’s funny because usually they only pass candy out to the little kids, but we decided to stick our hands out as well! It was funny and a “had-to-be-there” moment. That reminds me. I hate when I’m telling a funny story, and it ends up not being funny. You know, because it’s a “had-to-be-there” moment. I always feel retarded when that happens. Well, I’m not sure what else to write about. What else did I do this weekend? OH! I went to eat at Golden Corral with my family Saturday afternoon. That was fun. I hate how I always go to buffets when I’m not that hungry though. I couldn’t handle the first plate I had. I’m not really a big fan of that restaurant. However, I did enjoy their mashed potatoes and gravy a lot! Some people really annoy me though. When I went to get some mashed potatoes, there was this woman being really impatient. She was all up in my business. She was acting like there were no more mashed potatoes in the whole wide world. I hate when people act like that.

Friday, October 29, 2010

Blog 38: Halloween Parade!

I’m trying to get ahead on my blogs. So this is Saturday’s blog.

So tomorrow (Saturday) is my hometown’s Halloween Parade. It’s just this tiny parade that all the Ross County bands attend, as well as football teams, high school clubs, people running in my town, etc. People get to wear costumes and such which is cute. They even record it for television viewers. I’m really excited to go because I enjoy seeing all of the bands and running into people I know. I used to be in that parade for cheerleading when I was in elementary and then band when I got in high school. I loved marching the parade though! I dressed up as Dorothy every year. I know, I know. I probably should’ve been more creative. But people really enjoyed it. We would greet people when we weren’t playing and tiny kids were excited to see Dorothy. I’d always hear people in the crowd shout phrases from The Wizard of Oz as well, like “Where’s Toto??” Or “Auntie Em, Auntie Em!”

Before I was in high school band my sister, Amanda dressed up as the Scarecrow and my other sister, Vanessa dressed up as Dorothy. They even had a few people in their band to dress up as the Cowardly Lion and the Tin Man. It was really cute! So that’s how I got my costume—from Vanessa after she graduated.

So, from my last blog, you guys probably know I got my navel and cartilage pierced. Oh my. I didn’t take into consideration that I sleep on my tummy and that I lay the left side of my head on the pillow when I sleep. So, last night was interesting. I’m sure I’ll be okay though.



Thursday, October 28, 2010

Blog 37

10/28/10

I went to Evolved today with my sister, Amanda. It was my first time there and we decided to get piercings together…well, two piercings each because on Thursdays it’s Buy One Get One Free! She got her tongue and her cartilage on her left ear pierced. I got my belly button and the cartilage on my left ear pierced as well. It was really fun. Amanda’s piercer was named Sarvas. He was only wearing a Native American loin cloth. It was hilarious and he was really nice. I got a guy named Ruben! He was a guest piercer which was pretty cool and he was really nice too. He looked like Russell Brand (the guy dating or married to Katy Perry…or the guy off of Forgetting Sarah Marshall).

I don’t really know why I got my belly button pierced. It wasn’t like I was dying to get it done, but I kind of got it as a joke because my mom isn’t a big fan of piercings and tattoos. She once said the only piercing she would approve of other than in the ear is a belly button piercing. I think she was lying.

This brings me back to when I first got my lip pierced the summer before starting junior year in high school. My mom told me I could get it and right when we went into the place, she started making me cry in front of everyone. She then asked me how I was going to pay when she already said she would pay for it. After I said I didn’t want to anymore, she paid for it to make me feel even worse. I cried all day. I only had it for two months. During the time I had it I liked it, but with braces and being a bit older, I don’t think it fits me well. Plus no one can really see my belly button piercing unless I lift my shirt up randomly for everyone to see. Who would do that though? Later!

Blog 36

I am so mad at myself. My computer just freaked out and I didn’t save my work so I had to rewrite everything. UGH!

Personal anecdote:
It was the first day of fall quarter. I sat in Evan’s Laboratory where my math class would soon begin. Everyone was chatting and getting to know each other while we waited for class to begin. There it was! The bell started ringing at 11:30am. This is when we first glanced at our math lecturer for the quarter. This skinny man stood before us in this large auditorium. He started talking and welcoming us with his charm and humor, but I knew all the other students were thinking exactly what I was thinking: Why does he only have one arm? Now this wasn’t the only question that ran across my mind as the quarter went on. Shamefully, others that ran across my mind were: How does he tie his shoes? How did he put those jeans on? and How in the world did he roll up his sleeve? Thinking about all of these things made me feel uncomfortable and rude, I’ll admit.

Hypothetical scenario:
Imagine if we all looked differently. You’re probably saying, “But Sarah, we already do!” Well, that’s not what I mean. Imagine if we didn’t have the same body plan. If we didn't have our standard ways of living. Think of it as if we weren’t all supposed to have two arms, two legs, two feet, two eyes, you know. Would this difference still make us feel uncomfortable? Would we still be judging others? The norm in our society would most likely then be being different. We would then see acceptance.

Wednesday, October 27, 2010

Blog 35: "Plastic Surgery is the new ice cream..."

Reading the articles on Commonplace has made me a little intimidated. I feel the articles I have read are extremely researched and give many statistics which makes me feel like the topic I would want to choose would not fit under the criteria of a Commonplace paper.

Anyways, out of the two articles I could write about, I chose the article, Comfort Food by Morgan Glaze. I thought this article was more interesting than my other choice because it had information that I knew about already. It basically explains that you should be happy with your body and if you do make choices to change it, then you should only do it for yourself. It talks a lot about plastic surgery and brings up Heidi Montag from The Hills. The author states at the end that she wasn’t arguing that people shouldn’t have plastic surgery but that people shouldn’t change for others. When I read the article I thought they were arguing that people should not get plastic surgery so that was a bit confusing.

I really liked the information she used though. It was mentioned that there are plenty of students at The Ohio State University who have had boob jobs and other surgeries. I couldn’t believe that. Then the author said that teenagers between the ages of 13 and 19 had undergone “more than 90,000 plastic surgery procedures in 2006.” I didn’t know people that young go would go through those surgeries. Then again, when I think about it, 13 years old is pretty young so maybe these kids are even influenced by their parents.

It was a well-written and interesting article.

http://www.mhlearningsolutions.com/commonplace/index.php?q=node/5648

Tuesday, October 26, 2010

Blog 34

My ARP is on ethnocentrism, which is when people thinking their culture is superior and others inferior. I can expand this to others fearing or feeling uncomfortable with anything different they’re not used to. I’m not sure exactly what topic I want to do but an interesting topic I could do is based on polygamy. Most people feel extremely odd about this. There is actually a show called Sister Wives. It’s about this guy, Kody Brown, who lives in Utah and has four wives. All together I think he has 16 children but three of them aren’t actually his; they’re from a previous marriage of his latest wife.

This type of stuff made me feel uncomfortable watching it which is weird because two people of the same sex getting married doesn’t bother me but this does. The fact that this guy has four wives and a billion children and they all live together makes me wonder how they are even capable of handling all the jealousy that they have because they do express it during the show. Our society today doesn’t handle homosexuality okay so I wonder if polygamy outweighs it or not. Maybe since we hardly ever see it out in the open it’s not as big as a subject to feel uncomfortable or have a huge impact on people. I believe it's obviously pushing it's limits with marriage and what everyone's definition of marriage is.

Or I could write about cultural differences. My mother is Mexican and my dad is American. Almost all of my mom’s side of the family speaks Spanish and has different values than my dad’s side of the family. Sometimes I feel stuck in the middle but more uncomfortable with my mom’s side of the family because they live in Mexico while I’ve lived my whole life in Ohio. I don’t speak Spanish and I don’t necessarily share all of their ways of living.

Or I could simply do my commonplace paper on high school cliques! We’ve all gone through that, and I know we could relate in some way.

Monday, October 25, 2010

Blog 33

This blog will be about naps since I just took one. Last year I used to take naps all the time. When I say that I take naps, I’m talking about AT LEAST 2 hours. When I think of taking naps, I think of anytime I shouldn’t be asleep but I am—like during the day. So when I say I slept for 5 hours during the day I still think it’s a nap for me. What do you guys think? Most people say naps are an hour or less. I don’t know how naps even do their job if you sleep for that long! I know I would be miserable if I let myself sleep for an hour knowing I was ridiculously tired like today. That’s why I slept for three hours.

Then again, could it be a bad thing? I always wake up really cranky. I’m cranky right now. I don’t want to do anything and I want to go back to sleep but I have homework to catch up on. But this was the first opportunity of the school year for me to take a nappy-nap! I had to! My crankiness is wearing off and I’m starting to feel a whole lot better.

I wish my body was capable of functioning off of less sleep. I feel like I’m extremely tired and I get 8 hours, but when I try to sleep in my body wants to get up. I don’t know how I did it in high school with only getting four hours of sleep every night. Oh well, I love sleep!

Sunday, October 24, 2010

Blog 32

Everyone says that college will be the best years of your life. For me, I’d have to disagree. I remember being so stressed out in high school because my parents wouldn’t be pleased with getting anything lower than a 98 on my report card. But I had things to do that I liked doing, like softball and band, and I had the cooolest friends ever! Even though I thought I was unhappy from all the stress, I was actually happy compared to now.

Last year was my first year at OSU. I lived with my best friend, since the 5th grade, and my lovely sister, Amanda. Everything was going okay but it just ended up going downhill from there. My “best friend” and I no longer speak to each other and I don’t really have any close friends to talk to other than my family and my boyfriend. I mean it’s nice to have them but sometimes I think it’d be nice to have a friend.

Everyone says not to room with your best friends because the relationship will be ruined. I didn’t believe that and I kind of still don’t. I just learned who my real best friend was. It’s funny because even though my old friends have treated me like crap, I still think about them and I still care about them too.

It’s hard for me to make friends in college. I’ve tried tons of times and haven’t had much luck. Those friendships stay in the classroom as usual. Hopefully one day I’ll make some friends. Plus it’s so hard to have time to. I feel like I’m constantly doing homework. Maybe it will be easier when I’m done with “the best years of my life.” I can’t wait until it’s over.

Saturday, October 23, 2010

Blog 31

I went to my first Ohio State University football game today. My sister, Amanda, bought my student tickets and her student tickets. My sister, Vanessa, received free tickets from her work. So we had four tickets altogether. My brother and my boyfriend came with me and Vanessa. Amanda didn’t want to go and was nice enough to give us her tickets. Billy wanted to sit in the student section so him and Vanessa sat there. My boyfriend, Daniel, and I sat all the way in 10C-Deck with lots of older people. I pretty much had a guy announce the whole freaking game to me.

But it was alright. My favorite part was, of course, seeing the Ohio State BAND!!! I don’t know everything about football and I was in band when I was in high school so my geeky-dorky-band-nerdiness came out (sorry for making up words, teacher!!!) I love it! I really wanted to try out for the band but I recently got braces and I haven’t picked up my trumpet since I graduated. Hopefully when I get my braces off I can start playing again. So that was definitely my favorite part and I hope you guys don’t get mad and think I’m ridiculous because of it.

So, on the way home to Chillicothe the traffic was terrible. Everyone wanted to go to the Pumpkin Show. I kind of wanted to go to it this year, but it still doesn’t feel the same as when I went during high school because my high school band went and marched the parades on Thursday of the show. I got to hang out with my friends and we had a blast. The only part I hated was my band director made us play our school fight song. It was, and still is, Michigan’s fight song. I hated it. That song should be banned from Ohio Schools!!!

As you can tell, I miss being in band. It’s just not fun playing a trumpet by myself.

Friday, October 22, 2010

Blog 30

For this blog, I have no idea what to write about. Then again, I don’t think I ever know what to write about. My brother is watching the Toy Story 2 right now with the television blasting so it’s kind of hard to think of something interesting to write about for you guys. My family always has a television turned all the way up. I come home every weekend and sometimes it’s not the greatest idea because it NEVER seems to be quiet which makes doing homework even harder to accomplish.

My sister just found my blogger and now I’m embarrassed because she’s reading it.
So, since I have Toy Story 2 screaming in my ears, I will tell you that I like Woody better than Buzz. Anyone else agree or no? I guess I’ve just always liked him because he was the simpler toy. Buzz just seemed cocky when he made his appearance and Woody seemed to be pushed aside. Even though Woody did make a mess, he knew what he did was wrong and fixed it. I don’t know. Maybe I’m not making sense. I just liked Woody more. Enough said.

How cute is Bullseye though? Ahhh, adorable!

And last but not least, anyone watch Toy Story 3? It was ridiculously sad. My brother and sister cried. I think my boyfriend cried too but he won’t admit it. I admit that my eyes might have watered. It was funny because when I was waiting in line to go in and the group that had watched it before us left the theater I was wondering why they looked so depressed. I understood why when I finished the movie. I loved it.

How do you guys feel about it? (:

Thursday, October 21, 2010

Blog 29

Okay, people who have watched the majority or all of Firefly can probably help me on this. Oh and I can’t give you pieces of my actual paper yet because it’s under construction. I’ve changed my argument for the third time so I’ll give you some information on ideas that I need help on.

 I’m doing my paper on ethnocentrism, which is the tendency to judge others as inferior and your culture as superior. My paper will be about how Firefly presents this as a serious problem, but that it’s a fixable social problem. In other words, it’s about how people fear what they don’t understand. I’m also going to include it’s ways or attempts to resolve ethnocentrism as the importance of my paper.

The scene I chose to stand out the most is in the episode “Safe.”  This is when Doralee, the village teacher accuses River of being a witch and then the whole village is convinced as well. The part I want to show that it’s being fixed is perhaps when Mal comes and rescues them calling the crew “heroes.” So, I got that down, but I also want to show how Rivers abilities affect a few of her relationships with the crew as well. The crewmembers that I want to use are: Jayne, Mal, and Kaylee.

That’s the hard part for me. I’m not sure which exact scenes I want to use for Jayne. I feel like watching all of the episodes gave me a disadvantage because I’m using how he feels about River from more than one episode. I can easily pick out an scenes for Mal and Kaylee but I’m struggling to get one scene for Jayne that shows his ethnocentrism. Maybe it will just take watching over all of Firefly again. Perhaps I can use something from “Objects in Space.” Should I just find a scene where Jayne comes out and just says he wants her off the ship because she’s weird?

Also, I’m going to make my real world connection based on things that make people feel uncomfortable like homosexuality or immigration. Do you guys have any ideas? Maybe race could even work or the roles of women and men.

I appreciate any suggestions. Thanks.

Wednesday, October 20, 2010

Blog 28

I took my theatre midterm today and I got a 100 percent which is pretty awesome! I know it’s already known to be an easy class, but it’s still something to be happy about since I’ve been having a crumby school year so far. Scantrons scare me though. I had about four filled in B’s in a row. B’s and D’s were the majority of my answers. I also started making a diagonal line in one of my columns. I wonder if they do this on purpose to make you freak out.

So, did anyone see the article on yahoo news called “End of Earth Postponed?” It made me giggle. What I grasped from it is that they don’t know if the Mayan calendar has ended or when it will end. They think it might be off by 50 or 100 years. So yippee for the end of the world being postponed! I thought it was silly seeing that. Does anyone really find that stuff interesting or does everyone think it’s a little bit exaggerated? I’ve never really paid attention to news like that.

Well I will end this blog with some randomness and a picture again. I was looking through the pictures on my family’s main computer and I see a picture of me and my family after my graduation in 2009. It was a nice family picture, right? Well, I was clicked on the next picture and I see that someone has painted a beard on my face and named the picture file as “Graduation_Jesus.” I wanted to be angry but I could only laugh. Thank you to my sister, Amanda, for the laugh. I hope you enjoy it as well.

Left to right: Daddy, Papa, Mama, ME, Mommy, Vanessa, Billy, Amanda

Tuesday, October 19, 2010

Blog 27

Okay, so this blog will most likely be a bit random. I have to study for my theatre exam tomorrow and do some Spanish homework which makes me sad because I actually wanted to take time to try to write a neat and interesting blog for once.

Well, I just got back from my math exam. I already know I didn’t do well. I felt like I studied my butt off and it didn’t help. So, if any of you are good at math 150 and are willing to help a classmate out, it’d be much appreciated. Who knows? I could buy us some food to snack on as well.

Anyways, two years ago my sister, brother, daddy and I went to Kings Island. It was my little brother’s first time and he was excited! Well, we end up riding everything and I was extremely proud of him for not being a chicken. If it would’ve been me at 11 years old, I would have probably cried.

So, we get to the Firehawk and it is everyone’s first time riding! Before we got on, someone threw up standing in line right in front of us and the ride kept shutting down due to some problems but we were determined! We looked for the camera while standing in line so we could prepare for our awesome picture. Wanna see it???



As you can see, you CAN’T see my smiling face because of my hair. I laugh when I go on rollercoasters. I don’t know why, but it’s better than screaming I suppose. My sister, Amanda, who is terrified of heights, is giving the heavy metal death horns. My brother, Billy is….well, I don’t know what he’s doing but it was funny. And last but not least, my daddy is clenching onto his dentures. We laughed so much that day. Any of you guys have funny amusement park stories?

Monday, October 18, 2010

Blog 26

I never imagined that I would be doing English homework in the Math tutoring room. I do not feel prepared for this week. I have a math exam tomorrow and I’m not so confident going into that. I’ve been quite alright with all my other math classes I have taken so far, but I feel like Math 150 is kicking my butt. It frustrates me that I have never had the opportunity to learn pre-calculus until now. It makes me feel really dumb. But I guess all I can do is try my best.

I will now talk about my pet fish. I don’t know why but I named my fish Garth Algar. He’s a pretty cool fish. He’d rather be by himself in his tank because he doesn’t like sharing his fish flakes. He also likes floating upside down. Well, I’m not sure if he likes doing that, but he does it a lot, especially when he’s hungry. Does anyone else have pet fish that do that? He scares me a lot because I always think he’s dead and I’m afraid one day, I’ll see him floating and think he’s just playing but he’ll actually be dead. He also lets me pet him. We have a computer desk right besides where his tank is and he stares at me when he’s hungry. He’s one of the weirdest fish I’ve ever owned.

So, any of you guys have pets that do funny/weird things? Any funny names? I also have a Chinese Crested. Those are the hairless dogs. He’s actually much cuter than what they typically look like. We named him Kimo.

I also used to have this rooster. He didn't have a name. We just called him rooster. Well, we let him run around loose in the yard and when he got hungry he would peck his beak on the front door like he was knocking. It was hilarious. I'm done talking about randomness. Talk to you later!

Sunday, October 17, 2010

Blog 25

I have felt really tired and crappy lately. I’m still working on my thesis, but I think this time I actually know how to move forward and fix it. I just get really frustrated with writing. It’s my least favorite subject. I hate writing. I hate arguing. I hate analyzing. I wish I did like it though. It’d make this paper much more pleasant to….write.

I envy people who do like writing and reading. I’m not big on reading either. I just can’t get myself to sit down and read. It makes me really sleepy. Is anyone else like this? Speaking of school subjects, how did any of you decide what major to pick? Was it obvious to you? If so, I hate you. I’m just playing, kind of. This is my second year and I have yet to declare a major. I thought I wanted to go through with middle school education and teach math and science. Then I thought, and realized that I don’t love those subjects. As a matter of fact, I’m tired of school so why would I want to have school in my life for…well, the rest of my life?

So now I’m turning a different direction and looking into nursing. Anyone know anything about it? I’m just exploring majors. I know people say not to pick jobs because of the money, but at this point I find it hard to pick a major that I will know I like. I wish there was a major that required chilling at home doing whatever I wanted.

Sorry about all the negativity. I suppose I just needed to vent. (:

Saturday, October 16, 2010

Blog 24

I went to a Chinese buffet today. Oh man, I love Chinese food but after eating it, I feel like I gained 30 pounds. I always think it’s a great idea to go to buffets and then I regret it afterwards. By the way, can a buffet place kick you out if you stay all day? I was wondering and considered testing it out. Anyways, today’s blog, as you probably already noticed, will end up being me blabbing and not making any sense.

So, anyone else really enjoy Firefly? It’s really funny because I was terrified when our teacher said we had to watch science fiction and I thought she was exaggerating when she said that most people who watch it end up liking the show. She was definitely right. I watched all of the episodes for my entertainment and it makes me really sad that there aren’t any more to watch.

In other news, my dad bought apple cider and apples from a farm called Hirsh’s in my hometown, Chillicothe. He went in asking the employee which apples were the best and they pointed them out for him. He goes to check out his items and it rings up as 23 dollars. He said, “They must be reallllllyyy good apples!” It was funny. It was around 18 dollars for a bag of 14 apples. They were definitely worth it though. I had one this morning. They are huge, juicy, sweet apples. It was the best apple I have ever had in my life.

Okay, I’m done rambling. I have math homework to do. Night!

Friday, October 15, 2010

Blog 23

Wow, the first day I get to decide what I want to write about and I have no clue. I will now start rambling. Well, I just got done writing my second draft for my Analytical Research Paper. I’m glad I have finally found a direction to move towards. However, I’m a little afraid of the response I will be getting soon. I’m never confident when it comes to writing. I’d rather do 32893289328 math problems than write a paper. I don’t even really like math.

So, I was glancing at a few of your blog and I find myself being a little jealous of your fun weekends arriving. :p All I get to look forward to is studying for Spanish, Math, and Theatre exams/quizzes coming up at the beginning of the week. Ick!

But I’m home for the weekend, as usual. It’s always nice seeing my family even if I have to study every day of it. Oh and after tonight about 57 more days until Christmas break!!! Anyone else like counting down the days? I’m usually not that type of person except when it comes to having a break from school.

So, how about the weather? I’m not sure if I’m ready for it to start getting cold. I’m really nervous for when the time comes for it to start snowing. Has anyone else lived off campus before? It takes me a little under 30 minutes to walk from my apartment to class every morning so I can only imagine how long it will take me when it snows. I enjoy the walk but I’m not a big fan of being cold.

Thursday, October 14, 2010

Blog 22 I think.

So, today I have just come up with a completely new thesis. I realize that I’m going to be missing information for this blog that must be researched and given better thought to. So I apologize and in the mean time, bear with me. By the way, I wouldn’t mind any feedback!

Religion is a major part of many lives. Many of these faiths have certain ways of living, certain beliefs to hold, and certain standards to follow. When someone has a religion, they tend to believe everything that they are to believe in as a fact. Often they impose those beliefs on others who don’t hold the same faiths, or even those who don’t follow their organized structures the way they do. Most people get so involved in their religion that they fail to see that they’re choosing standards for everyone else. What is neat yet scary about this, is that these standards that human beings choose to live by could simply be made up. With that said, Doralee accusing River of being a witch demonstrates that belief systems, such as religion, cause one to make inaccurate judgments on others by referencing their beliefs as fact.

In the Firefly’s “Safe,” River and Simon are kidnapped and taken to a small village in need of a doctor. While being there, River has bonded with a little girl named Ruby who hasn’t spoken for the past two years and is believed to be mute. After a day of playing, River explains Ruby’s past to Doralee, a village teacher, and Simon. Doralee was amazed and thought of River as an angel for getting Ruby to talk. This moment quickly turns when River explains that Ruby cannot talk because her voice had been scared away. Doralee then accuses River of being a witch and says “thou shall not suffer a witch to live.”

This brings me to my real world connection. I want to write about the witch trials, politics over topics such as abortion, and perhaps the preacher that goes on the oval and yells as students walk to class that they’re going to hell because apparently he’s the only person that believes in his religion. :P

Obviously, I have yet to look into some articles and information to further explain the real world connection, but I’ll get right on top of that!

Wednesday, October 13, 2010

Blog 21: Integrating Quotes 2

We as human beings, make decisions and judge based on information given to us. We often do not fully know the full story to many people, places, and things. Usually, when given information that guide us toward negativity, we think whatever it is we are judging is bad. If we are given positive information, we will think positively. It depends on the outcome. Both Rocio Garcia-Retamero and Jorg Rieskamp, faculty of the University of Granada specializing in psychology, help justify my argument when they said, “when people face an inference situation with missing information, they will, on a basis of learning, most likely apply the mechanism for treating missing information that leads to the best performance.” (Garcia-Retamero and Rieskamp, 1991). The authors are stating that people make opinions based on the information they are given. This is great for explaining why people judge the way they do. For instance, most viewers think Jayne, from Firefly, seems to be a horrible man. The director of the show chooses to let scenes of Jayne’s selfishness stand out. However, if a person does not watch all the episodes of Firefly and makes the accusation that Jayne only cares about his self, they will not know that he actually does contain a considerate and generous side of him. This brings to me my last point. Maybe it is okay to make judgments based on the information given to us, but should we also think about the possibilities of what makes information seem good or bad? The real life example could simply be one choosing a political party to side with. Seeing negative information about a party could sway you to another and vice versa. When we choose, we tend to see if one aspect outweighs another to make our decisions. If, however, we don’t research all the information of politics, we could be making the wrong assumptions.

Tuesday, October 12, 2010

Blog 20: Integrated Quotes

Caring for one’s own family seems to be one of the top priorities in life. In many cases, even mine, family cannot be replaced and they tend to come into play when making even the simplest decisions. Fleming, a journalist, helps justify this when he states that, “The lines are always drawn first around one’s own family.” (Fleming, 25). What Fleming is trying to say is that we are genetically loyal to our families. He argues that this loyalty within family is what causes unfairness, tension, and fights with others. This is because of the simple fact that we have that bond with our families that seems to be stronger than connections with people who aren’t genetically related. He also states that this is problematic when resources are limited. This information helps relate to why Jayne backstabbed River and Simon in the episode “Ariel.” We learn that from “The message,” he is sending money to his family, where we also learn that his sister is ill. This shows that Jayne took advantage of an opportunity that would get him money faster to care for his family. It might seem like Jayne was being selfish, but he was being selfish for his family. This is what we usually call being ‘selfless.’ A real world connection could simply be parents working for a reasonable salary to support their household. Jayne’s relationship between his crewmembers might not be as strong as his bond with his family, but that still doesn’t necessarily mean that he doesn’t care for human beings besides family (which I will also argue at a different time because this doesn’t relate to my integrated quote.) This quote helped me better understand Jayne’s actions.

Monday, October 11, 2010

Blog 19: Article FOUR

The fourth article deals the most with what I want to argue. Finally! This article is called, “Family bond obsession: A form of racism.” I was looking into the article to see why family ties are strong. However, I did not find much information on that besides the fact that it’s genetic.

The author’s argument is that it’s racist to want your child to succeed and for other children to fail. We see that in everyday life. Everyone is competing. Most parents want their children to succeed. There is actually a term for it!
“Genism: favouring your own child over everyone else.”

Now, even though wanting a child to succeed is not the argument I want to make, I can still use this. You see Jayne portrayed throughout Firefly as a backstabbing, selfish, always-thinking-about-himself man. That’s what I thought of him. But looking closer, I realize he is doing those things not only for himself but for his family. A lot of people in today’s society feel very protective and loyal with their family. I know I do. In my case, my family comes before anyone else.

In this article, the author explained that our genetic loyalties are the causes of all the fighting and all of the wars. He is mainly saying that we should not only wish the best for the ones we care for, but wish everyone the best.

I can see that in Jayne as well. In “The Message” you see that he is giving money to his family, but in other episodes, you can see that he cares for the crew as well. Even though his loyalty and bonds might not be as tight with the crew as with his family, he is still capable of caring.

Fleming, Peter. "Family bond obsession a form of racism." 23-25. Eureka Street Magazine Pty Ltd, 2007. Academic Search Complete. EBSCO. Web. 11 Oct. 2010.

Sunday, October 10, 2010

Blog 18: Article 3

The next article I decided to read is “Is Greed good?” Now, I’m not sure what the author’s answer was to the question: Is greed good? But the article did give me good ideas that helped me bring up some questions about Firefly.

The article was based on experiments on EBay. It let me see the percentages on sellers willing to sell their items and buyers willing to buy. It explained that if the seller sells the item and fails to send it, buyers will give bad reviews and even though the seller has the money, they won’t get any more sales.

I was always wondering why Mal was able to return the money to people that gave him business when he wasn’t able to complete the job, especially when people like Niska threaten him. His job is sort of like EBay. If Mal fails to do his job, or if he charges too much for his items, it will get around and he will not have any more job offers.

Another point I would like to make is that the article explained that a lot of people are fair even when given the chance to be greedy. It gave an example with a child having jelly beans. If the child’s friend asks to have some of the jelly beans, the child will most likely end up giving up close to half or half of his jelly beans to his friend.

I’m not sure I can agree with that. I am willing to share like that but I don’t think most people are like that. This leads me to use Jayne as an example. If Jayne was willing to share money, he wouldn’t have secretly turned on River and Simon during “Ariel.” I do see that he was willing to share in later episodes, but I believe it’s because he is able to stay alive and stay on Serenity. That is fair for him also. So he isn’t really losing anything.

Hopefully I can incorporate this article in my paper. I did like some of the points brought up.

Uhlhaas, Christoph. "Is Greed Good?." Scientific American Mind 18.4 (2007): 60-67. Academic Search Complete. EBSCO. Web. 10 Oct. 2010.