My parents have allowed my sister to drive their van up here so we can have a little bit of transportation and not be completely trapped in our apartment all week. Sometimes I just go outside, sit in our van, and call home or my boyfriend. It makes me feel at home. I know. You’re all probably thinking that I’m weird. I love home. At the end of class, a few students were talking about how much they loved Ohio State. I, on the other hand, don’t care for it as much. I would have loved to go to the community school at home. We’re all different, you know? But I’m up here at OSU because I have no option. I’ll save the details and say that my parents simply expect me to go here. So like the good daughter I try to be, I am here to make my parents happy for the most part. I just feel like I’m missing out on a lot being away from home. Okay! That’s enough sappy news! I’m so glad that we only have a good 10 more days here! Some of us less! And it’s supposed to snow this week! Even though I don’t really like the cold, I’d rather it snow than rain.
So has anyone seen that show called “Hole in the Wall?” It is hilarious! My sister and I were watching a few short clips of it. There is this huge wall with holes in it in the shape of human bodies and these contestants have to make these shapes with their own bodies. If they don’t then the wall pushes them into a pool of water. The contestant’s faces are priceless when they see a wall with a confusing pattern they have to form. I wish I could be on a show like that. I could only imagine how fun I’d have!
Tuesday, November 30, 2010
Monday, November 29, 2010
Blog 69
Tuesday's Blog:
I’m pretty sure we have another “blog about anything” blog until blog 71. That’s a good thing because I needed it. It is a little past midnight and I’m writing this blog to 1. Get it over with and 2. Get my mind off of the Theatre paper I’ve been working on all day. I need a break before I proofread it or else I’ll end up missing something because I’ve been staring at it for way too long! My paper had to be at least 3 pages double spaced but I ended up writing 5 pages. I’m sure if I hadn’t taken this English class my paper would have been only 3 pages. It’s just so much easier for me to write and write and write now. Leslie was definitely right when she said having to write a blog every day will help us when it comes to having to write lengthy papers. So, thank you Leslie! I’m getting a bit sleepy though. I have an oral quiz and composition for Spanish tomorrow. I’m in the first group for the speaking quiz which is a huge bummer. My teacher always does this to me. Lol. But my plans for tomorrow after class are: working on my CP revision, doing Spanish homework, and making a few changes to my individual memo. Hopefully my group gets our group memo done in class tomorrow. Oh, and I finally completed all 160 of my comments! YAY! Now you guys won’t have to deal with me filling up your inbox. By the way, sorry to those of you that I have done that to. It’s just easier to pick someone and read and comment on multiple blogs of theirs. That way you don’t have to keep searching and searching for blogs. Plus it allows you to leave more comments because you know which blogs you had left comments on so then you can find another victim and fill up their inbox! Haha okay I’m being ridiculous. It’s time to post this and finish my homework. Peace!
I’m pretty sure we have another “blog about anything” blog until blog 71. That’s a good thing because I needed it. It is a little past midnight and I’m writing this blog to 1. Get it over with and 2. Get my mind off of the Theatre paper I’ve been working on all day. I need a break before I proofread it or else I’ll end up missing something because I’ve been staring at it for way too long! My paper had to be at least 3 pages double spaced but I ended up writing 5 pages. I’m sure if I hadn’t taken this English class my paper would have been only 3 pages. It’s just so much easier for me to write and write and write now. Leslie was definitely right when she said having to write a blog every day will help us when it comes to having to write lengthy papers. So, thank you Leslie! I’m getting a bit sleepy though. I have an oral quiz and composition for Spanish tomorrow. I’m in the first group for the speaking quiz which is a huge bummer. My teacher always does this to me. Lol. But my plans for tomorrow after class are: working on my CP revision, doing Spanish homework, and making a few changes to my individual memo. Hopefully my group gets our group memo done in class tomorrow. Oh, and I finally completed all 160 of my comments! YAY! Now you guys won’t have to deal with me filling up your inbox. By the way, sorry to those of you that I have done that to. It’s just easier to pick someone and read and comment on multiple blogs of theirs. That way you don’t have to keep searching and searching for blogs. Plus it allows you to leave more comments because you know which blogs you had left comments on so then you can find another victim and fill up their inbox! Haha okay I’m being ridiculous. It’s time to post this and finish my homework. Peace!
Blog 68
So can you believe it? After this blog we will only have 7 more blogs left! I can’t even believe that I have written a blog every day since the first day of English class! I’m glad they’re coming to an end though because I am definitely worn out. I still haven’t written my last 8 comments yet. I will probably do that today so I can get them out of the way. So I’m writing this blog to kill time while I wait for the bus. I figured that I might as well be productive! I will kill myself if I miss the bus though. I do like that we can text Cabs to see when the buses will arrive but it makes me mad that they arrive like 4-5 minutes earlier than their arrival time. I have a lot to do today. I have to finish revising my CP paper and write a three page paper for theatre. I’m a little nervous about that paper. I’ve been having dreams about teachers grading my papers/projects extremely hard. Ick! But today in theatre we aren’t doing anything besides watching groups who had created the best play perform their play for us. It confuses me as to why they get 3 extra credit points for being the TA’s favorite performance. Do they really need the extra credit? I don’t know. I’m just a tad bit upset about how the class is being graded for our play project. My whole group gets the same performance grade. Hey, it isn’t my fault the actor forgot his lines. The rest of us memorized our own lines. Oh well. I need to go catch the bus. Peace!
Sunday, November 28, 2010
Blog 67
I had an awesome day yesterday! I finished decorating my tree because I ended up being too tired to finish putting the ornaments on it on Friday because my mom and sister would not help me. It makes me sad that they’re getting too lazy to do those types of things with me anymore. I went to town with my boyfriend yesterday too! We went to Wal-Mart to look at radios. His was stolen from his car and the cheapest radio there was 95 dollars. I wanted to get him one for Christmas along with some other gifts but I don’t have much money. Well, we left after that because all the rude Wal-Mart shoppers were annoying me. We went to FYE and after that we went to Subway and got delicious subs. I don’t know why I hardly ever go there. Anyways, after we got done eating I said I wanted to go to JCPenney. He turned the opposite way and pulled into the movie theatres which put a big smile on my face. I hardly ever get to go to the movies and he always knows how to surprise me! He even kept calling his mom and saying he’d be over soon to make me think we would just go to his house after JCPenney. We ended up watching Tangled. It’s a Disney movie but it’s really cute! Haha I loved it. So if you’re ever up for watching a Disney movie then you should go watch it. We snuck in cookies, gummy bears, butterfingers and crème sodas. After the movie we realized that our crème sodas looked like beer. I promise they weren’t! Well, I have tons of homework to plow through today. I hate how I always wait until Sunday to do homework.
Friday, November 26, 2010
Blog 66
I’m writing Saturday’s blog a little early. Speaking of blogs, is anyone getting really annoyed with them as the quarter comes to an end? I really just don’t feel like writing them anymore. I’m still too lazy to write the 8 more comments to reach 160. I’m extremely burnt out on them.
I cannot believe we only have one more week of school and then it will be final’s week. I feel like everything is coming too fast and I wish we had a little bit more time to get all these projects and assignments done! I signed up for an online class for next quarter. Has anyone taken one? I’m really nervous about that decision and I don’t know if I want to go through with it.
I’m not sure if I’m ready for this cold weather. I haven’t been outside since I got home on Wednesday night. I’m avoiding having to go outside as much as possible because I just don’t want to be cold. Funny that I’m like that since I slept with the window open that’s RIGHT next to my bed. It was just so hot in our house last night. I’m pretty sure I’d rather be cold than be hot because I can find some way to warm myself up! Since I had the window open, I had a nice heavy blanket covering me up as I slept. It was the RIGHT temperature for me because I slept a good 10 hours. I went to bed before everyone and woke up last. :p
I cannot believe we only have one more week of school and then it will be final’s week. I feel like everything is coming too fast and I wish we had a little bit more time to get all these projects and assignments done! I signed up for an online class for next quarter. Has anyone taken one? I’m really nervous about that decision and I don’t know if I want to go through with it.
I’m not sure if I’m ready for this cold weather. I haven’t been outside since I got home on Wednesday night. I’m avoiding having to go outside as much as possible because I just don’t want to be cold. Funny that I’m like that since I slept with the window open that’s RIGHT next to my bed. It was just so hot in our house last night. I’m pretty sure I’d rather be cold than be hot because I can find some way to warm myself up! Since I had the window open, I had a nice heavy blanket covering me up as I slept. It was the RIGHT temperature for me because I slept a good 10 hours. I went to bed before everyone and woke up last. :p
Blog 65
I had a nice Thanksgiving. Today, I woke up and ate some pumpkin pie! It was sooo good! I really wanted to go Black Friday shopping today but I have to use all the money I have for school, which is a huge bummer. I’ve never been shopping on Black Friday. I will probably only go Black Friday shopping when I get out of school and have a job….that allows me to have some spending money. It really makes me bummed that I can never get my family, friends, boyfriend, etc, gifts for the holidays. It’s a real downer and makes me feel horrible, but what can I do? I’m literally broke because I don’t have a job. It doesn’t seem like an option to have a job either because I don’t have a car and my parents wouldn’t be very happy if I weren’t putting all of my focus on school. So I’m even more pumped to get college out of the way and start my life. Well, it started snowing last night! That was pretty neat. It was the first sight of snow for me this winter! Welp, I get to put the tree up tonight! Woo. My mom got this 9 foot tree at a yard sale for like 5 bucks and she wants to try to fit it in our not-so-tall house. I don’t know how that’s going to work. We might just put our old tree up. I don’t know! We’ll make it work out somehow.
Thursday, November 25, 2010
Blog 64
I can’t believe we have to do a blog on Thanksgiving. I’m going to get this over with so I can help finish preparing the food and make an attempt to look nice. So, I woke up and helped my mommy make some homemade noodles. Mm! She’s a pretty awesome cook! And then my parents started to make our homemade mashed potatoes by chopping the raw potatoes into pieces to cook faster. My clumsy daddy chopped a nice portion of his thumb off. It’s the part above the finger nail. It’s really gross so he is banned from using knives. I got to clean a bunch of dishes that got dirtied up when we were cooking. I hate cleaning dishes. I’d rather be stuck doing laundry allllll day than have to do dishes. So, after that my mom realized that we ran out of salt. My grandma lives next door but is attending Thanksgiving dinner at my aunt’s house. So I told my daddy to go steal her salt since we have a key to her house. (Haha sometimes I go steal her cookies when she’s not home.) Well, that plan failed because she barely had any salt, which is odd. My grandma is the type of person who must be stocked in all foods and supplies. She’s crazy. So we went to a local market called Gibsons and got us some salt! YEAH! It’s been an okay day so far despite the rain. I can’t wait until my family is all together and ready to eat though. I’m starving…
I hope you all have an awesome Thanksgiving, though!
I hope you all have an awesome Thanksgiving, though!
Wednesday, November 24, 2010
Blog 63
Guess what? I’m pretty bummed about my Commonplace paper. Rick was trying to cheer me up by saying, “Look! Your paper is second on the list!” I don’t really care if my paper was second. I’d rather have an awesome grade and have my name not even be on that list, you know? But whatever. So, guess who’s revising? You guessed it! Me. But on the bright side, since she put a limit on the extra credit comments, I only have to write 8 more to get a whopping 3 points! Woo! Haha I’m a little bummed.
So, I’m still on campus. I’ve been waiting for my daddy to get off work so I can go home. I was able to clean my whole apartment and now I’ve decided to do some homework while I wait for him. I hope he comes soon. I hate getting home late.
In other news, I went to my only class today. It was my Spanish 103 class. Only five students total showed up. My teacher laughed. She is a pretty awesome teacher. If any of you need to take Spanish 103, I highly recommend Beth McCallister. She’s probably my favorite teacher I’ve had at The Ohio State University. We played a Spanish version of Apples to Apples in two groups of three. Lucky me got to play with my teacher and another student. My teacher obviously won seeing that she’s fluent in Spanish. It was fun though! I like when I can tell how fun a class is when it feels like I had only been there for 10 minutes when in reality it was 50. Do you know what I mean? Well, my daddy just called! He’s finally on his way! Peace!
So, I’m still on campus. I’ve been waiting for my daddy to get off work so I can go home. I was able to clean my whole apartment and now I’ve decided to do some homework while I wait for him. I hope he comes soon. I hate getting home late.
In other news, I went to my only class today. It was my Spanish 103 class. Only five students total showed up. My teacher laughed. She is a pretty awesome teacher. If any of you need to take Spanish 103, I highly recommend Beth McCallister. She’s probably my favorite teacher I’ve had at The Ohio State University. We played a Spanish version of Apples to Apples in two groups of three. Lucky me got to play with my teacher and another student. My teacher obviously won seeing that she’s fluent in Spanish. It was fun though! I like when I can tell how fun a class is when it feels like I had only been there for 10 minutes when in reality it was 50. Do you know what I mean? Well, my daddy just called! He’s finally on his way! Peace!
Tuesday, November 23, 2010
Blog 62
After watching the rest of Battlestar Galactica today, I suppose I don’t mind it as much as I thought I did. I think part of the reason I felt more interested in it this time was because I could see and hear it extremely well in the classroom that we were in. So I think it's safe to say that I had a better time watching BSG today than last Thursday. Anyways, did anyone catch the ending? I didn’t because I got distracted looking at the packet of papers our teacher gave us. I read online that they find out that that Sharon “Boomer” girl—the one that was shown to have a secret relationship with a chief dude—is a Cyclon. At first, I thought the scientist guy was blaming that one guy of being a cyclon for no reason. I didn’t really think that Number 6 was actually helping him. I read online that he really was a Cyclon. Apparently you can program Cyclons to think that they’re actually humans. And you can set a timer on them for when you want them to turn on people and realize that they aren't humans...I think. So I have a question: Did the scientist guy invent Cyclons? If so, how were they able to make “human Cyclons?” I’m still a little unclear about that. Is it like the robots turned against the humans and are trying to take over? That would be extremely terrifying if the same situation happened in reality. Oh and I can totally see how that paper we had to critique about BSG related the show to reality. I guess I would be able to lean of the “revise and resubmit” side now. :P Okay, nap time!!!
Monday, November 22, 2010
Blog 61
Hey there! So I worked on some extra commenting that I should’ve done this weekend. I was just extremely lazy though! I’m up to approximately 150. Hopefully this weekend coming up, I’ll have hit 200! w00t w00t! As the quarter comes to an end, I’m feeling lazier. I wish I could quit. I was on a roll with comments at the beginning and now I just don’t feel motivated even though I know I need as much extra credit as I can get!
So, who all is attending the Mirror Lake Jump!?!?!?! I’m still debating on whether or not I should go. I live too far away to be walking back to my apartment in wet clothes so my other option is changing in a nearby bathroom. I don’t know yet. Someone needs to persuade me!
What else? Oh, so I’m extremely nervous about getting my Commonplace paper back. All weekend I’ve been checking to see if she has posted our grades yet. She posted our ARP grades pretty fast, but I still haven’t received my grade. I thought she said that she would post them late Sunday. I don’t know. I hope I did well. It’d be awesome if somehow I magically got a 20 out of 20 but I do not want to get my hopes up. I would be extremely happy with a 17 or higher. I’m going to feel like crap if I get anything less. I guess that’s why I signed up for revisions anyway. Bleh. By the way, if you guys still have time, would you still mind reading my paper? I’d appreciate it! It’s in blogs 58/59/60! Peace!
So, who all is attending the Mirror Lake Jump!?!?!?! I’m still debating on whether or not I should go. I live too far away to be walking back to my apartment in wet clothes so my other option is changing in a nearby bathroom. I don’t know yet. Someone needs to persuade me!
What else? Oh, so I’m extremely nervous about getting my Commonplace paper back. All weekend I’ve been checking to see if she has posted our grades yet. She posted our ARP grades pretty fast, but I still haven’t received my grade. I thought she said that she would post them late Sunday. I don’t know. I hope I did well. It’d be awesome if somehow I magically got a 20 out of 20 but I do not want to get my hopes up. I would be extremely happy with a 17 or higher. I’m going to feel like crap if I get anything less. I guess that’s why I signed up for revisions anyway. Bleh. By the way, if you guys still have time, would you still mind reading my paper? I’d appreciate it! It’s in blogs 58/59/60! Peace!
Friday, November 19, 2010
Blog 60: CP part 3
LAST PART of MY CP PAPER!
So what are we, as citizens of America, coming to? The affects of not accepting homosexuality for what it is has gone way too far. Many suicides caused by humans bullying based on orientation have been taking place recently. One of the recent suicides that made the news occurred at Rutgers University in New Jersey. Tyler Clementi was one of the five victims of bullying who had committed suicide in a short span of three weeks. Tyler was tormented by his roommate who posted videos online of him having sexual intercourse with another man. After the videos were exposed, the teen then committed suicide by jumping off the George Washington Bridge on Tuesday, September 28th, 2010. How many suicides will it take to learn that degrading a gay person will not fixing our problems with homosexuality?
If you cannot have an open mind based on my personal experiences, then please try because you are an AMERICAN! If this social disapproval continues, I fear that we are not striding toward equality, but rather making a joke of own Constitution in touting hypocrisy. In my opinion, I don’t want to be labeled as an American if the definition of one is: a person who is disrespectful to others based on their own race, religion, gender, age, and/or sexual orientation.
Hopefully I posted all of my paper correctly. There are a few hyperlinks within my paper that I'm too lazy to do right now. Let me know what you think! The only thing I kept from my first rough draft was my personal anecdote so I'm really nervous about this HUGE change since a lot of my classmates liked the first draft. Anyways, I want to say thank you to anyone who has taken the time to look through it and give feedback. See you later!
So what are we, as citizens of America, coming to? The affects of not accepting homosexuality for what it is has gone way too far. Many suicides caused by humans bullying based on orientation have been taking place recently. One of the recent suicides that made the news occurred at Rutgers University in New Jersey. Tyler Clementi was one of the five victims of bullying who had committed suicide in a short span of three weeks. Tyler was tormented by his roommate who posted videos online of him having sexual intercourse with another man. After the videos were exposed, the teen then committed suicide by jumping off the George Washington Bridge on Tuesday, September 28th, 2010. How many suicides will it take to learn that degrading a gay person will not fixing our problems with homosexuality?
If you cannot have an open mind based on my personal experiences, then please try because you are an AMERICAN! If this social disapproval continues, I fear that we are not striding toward equality, but rather making a joke of own Constitution in touting hypocrisy. In my opinion, I don’t want to be labeled as an American if the definition of one is: a person who is disrespectful to others based on their own race, religion, gender, age, and/or sexual orientation.
Hopefully I posted all of my paper correctly. There are a few hyperlinks within my paper that I'm too lazy to do right now. Let me know what you think! The only thing I kept from my first rough draft was my personal anecdote so I'm really nervous about this HUGE change since a lot of my classmates liked the first draft. Anyways, I want to say thank you to anyone who has taken the time to look through it and give feedback. See you later!
Blog 59: CP part 2
CONTINUATION of my CP paper!
It seems that social acceptance is at the root of this. Feeling the need to hide one’s sexual preference through the government’s “Don’t ask, Don’t tell” military policy reminds me of the type of obstacles women and blacks once faced. Blacks were slaves, blacks couldn’t vote, blacks and whites couldn’t drink out of the same water fountain, women couldn’t vote, and women couldn’t have certain jobs because they weren’t considered equal. Right now, gays can’t be legally married in all states. Why? Because the legislatures don’t find gay marriage acceptable.
It seems ridiculous that someone could ever be told that it is not right to romantically love someone of the same sex just as it seems ridiculous to say that a black woman should not vote because she is black and a woman.
Homosexuals are human beings just as I am. Because they do not share the same orientation as me—being straight—doesn’t exclude them from being an American citizen. Simply put, a person’s orientation should not affect his or her right to be treated equally.
This then brings up a good question: What does it mean to be an American? Is it to not accept another fellow American for their beliefs? Is it to treat another human being horribly? I don’t think so. The Constitution, as you all should know, is an essential document for the United States of America that lists the laws and powers of our country. If one views it, they will find that there are no rights stated in the Constitution that are taken away because of a person’s orientation. So why judge and treat people differently because of it? As it declares, “all men are created equal,” right?
It seems that social acceptance is at the root of this. Feeling the need to hide one’s sexual preference through the government’s “Don’t ask, Don’t tell” military policy reminds me of the type of obstacles women and blacks once faced. Blacks were slaves, blacks couldn’t vote, blacks and whites couldn’t drink out of the same water fountain, women couldn’t vote, and women couldn’t have certain jobs because they weren’t considered equal. Right now, gays can’t be legally married in all states. Why? Because the legislatures don’t find gay marriage acceptable.
It seems ridiculous that someone could ever be told that it is not right to romantically love someone of the same sex just as it seems ridiculous to say that a black woman should not vote because she is black and a woman.
Homosexuals are human beings just as I am. Because they do not share the same orientation as me—being straight—doesn’t exclude them from being an American citizen. Simply put, a person’s orientation should not affect his or her right to be treated equally.
This then brings up a good question: What does it mean to be an American? Is it to not accept another fellow American for their beliefs? Is it to treat another human being horribly? I don’t think so. The Constitution, as you all should know, is an essential document for the United States of America that lists the laws and powers of our country. If one views it, they will find that there are no rights stated in the Constitution that are taken away because of a person’s orientation. So why judge and treat people differently because of it? As it declares, “all men are created equal,” right?
Blog 58: CP part 1
I finally feel less stressed about the end of this quarter. I got my paper finished and I got my theatre project out of the way. Since I’m doing a revision, I will post sections of my paper as blogs so I’d appreciate it if you guys could give me some feedback! Please give it a chance though!
We all have them: those childhood memories we aren’t supposed to bring up ever again. Well, right here, right now, I’m going to share mine with you. When I was a little girl, around seven years old, I recall visiting my Aunt Candy's house for dinner. She lived with a woman named “Shauna,” but I never questioned her relationship with Shauna beyond housemates. As I looked around at pictures and trinkets that consumed their shelf space, I remember being perplexed over a particular photograph. In it, there was a crowd comprised of family and friends surrounding my Aunt Candy and Shauna. They were clad in white and embracing, so I knew something about the picture was special. Confused, I shouted: "Mommy! They're kissing! Girls don't kiss each other!" And you can bet that awkwardness ensued for the rest of the day. This photo was their wedding union. My mother tried her best to hush my curiosity, but that in no way stifled the obvious questions that, as an inquisitive child, I wanted and needed answered. My parents tried to answer all of my questions: Are girls allowed to kiss? How come we didn't go to the wedding? Is Shauna my aunt? Is Aunt Candy my uncle? This last question was sadly a question I needed answered due to misinformation and a lack of understanding of the world that surrounded me. I thought this because my aunt carries the more masculine features, and I was used to heterosexual couple characteristics.
Reflecting on this personal memory allows me to reconsider its implications. Since then, I’ve had the pleasure of meeting and becoming friends with people who obtain different sexual orientations, as well as learning of family members who are gay. Because I was raised by my parents to be accepting of all people, I have been able to obtain an open mind when it comes to the subject. For example, when I hear someone say phrases that use homosexuality to convey a negative meaning like “That’s so gay” or “You’re so gay,” I think about my family members who are gay, and I am immediately reminded of the tears they shed as they professed their sexual orientation. I remember hearing them say that they felt the need to keep this secret because they were afraid that the family and I would be ashamed. I recall learning that one of my family members went through a huge internal struggle with this realization, and I could physically see it as it was visible in the form of self-inflicted wounds. Overall, living and learning through these types of experiences have both allowed me to gain awareness and understanding of their situations and lives.
All Men Are Created Equal—Unless You’re Gay
Reflecting on this personal memory allows me to reconsider its implications. Since then, I’ve had the pleasure of meeting and becoming friends with people who obtain different sexual orientations, as well as learning of family members who are gay. Because I was raised by my parents to be accepting of all people, I have been able to obtain an open mind when it comes to the subject. For example, when I hear someone say phrases that use homosexuality to convey a negative meaning like “That’s so gay” or “You’re so gay,” I think about my family members who are gay, and I am immediately reminded of the tears they shed as they professed their sexual orientation. I remember hearing them say that they felt the need to keep this secret because they were afraid that the family and I would be ashamed. I recall learning that one of my family members went through a huge internal struggle with this realization, and I could physically see it as it was visible in the form of self-inflicted wounds. Overall, living and learning through these types of experiences have both allowed me to gain awareness and understanding of their situations and lives.
Thursday, November 18, 2010
Blog 57
Today was my first time viewing Battlestar Galactica. As of right now, I’m not as extremely interested for it like I was with Firefly. I’m not saying that I’m not giving it a chance either. It was just really hard to completely concentrate on it in class today. It probably didn’t help that I was in a classroom setting with three rows of computers in front of me and the noises of typing and clicking that came along. Did Cyclon 6 kill that baby though? What kind of mom would take her eyes off her baby in a crowded place? Why didn’t anyone see this cyclon lady do this? How come no one stopped her? I’m sorry. I don’t mean to pick that scene apart, but these are the types of questions I end up coming up with when watching movies and shows that want to portray reality. BSG wasn’t bad though. It had some interesting parts. I wish there was a more comedic feel to it, but I guess viewers wouldn’t take it as seriously. I'm just a comedy type of girl! So I didn’t know that Gaius Balter guy was a scientist. I can’t believe I didn’t catch that when we were watching it in class. I pretty much didn’t understand what Number 6 was using him for. Obviously she used him to get into the computer networks, but I never caught on that he was a famous scientist. I had to Wikipedia that. I’m guess I’m slow when it comes to watching or reading things that aren’t straightforward.
But, what if there were actual robots that had human features? Wouldn’t that be ridiculous? I hope they show the other human robots! And I hope there is more action because I’m not a big fan of just watching space ships fly around shooting other space ships.
But, what if there were actual robots that had human features? Wouldn’t that be ridiculous? I hope they show the other human robots! And I hope there is more action because I’m not a big fan of just watching space ships fly around shooting other space ships.
Wednesday, November 17, 2010
Blog 56
I was able to be productive last night! I got all my Spanish homework completed, finished my Theatre paper, and worked on my production book! Now, today and tomorrow I just need to tackle my CP paper and memo. Hopefully that all goes well! So I signed up for my first writing center meeting. I did it at 1:30am so it took me longer to figure out how everything worked to sign up because I was a tad bit sleepy. But I reserved an appointment! You guys should also reserve early. I can’t believe how fast the spots are filling up!!! I’m glad I decided to do this early. I’m writing this blog while waiting for my Theatre lecture to begin and some dude just came up to me and said it was nice to see me. I was like, what? I don’t even know you! I didn’t say that, just thought it because people mistake me for other people all the time. But that wasn’t the case! He saw that I was wearing a hoodie with my high school’s name on it and told me he was from a school nearby. It’s really neat running into people from my county! I’m the only person from my high school class that is at OSU. The majority of my old classmates are at Shawnee, or the community college back home called OU-C. Sometimes I wish that I could’ve gone to my community college so I could be closer to home, but I received a scholarship here and took it. Okay, byee!
Tuesday, November 16, 2010
Blog 55
Today was such a long day. I just got back to my apartment. It’s 8pm and I am exhausted! I haven’t even had any time to study or do homework. I have a feeling I will be pulling an all-nighter. I have two papers to write by Thursday, our memo is due, and I need to make a WHOLE production book for my Theatre class which is due on Thursday as well. I also need to start on my Spanish homework. I have a feeling that I will have a quiz in Spanish tomorrow. I feel poopy. I did have a meeting with an education advisor today though. She said there was no “early childhood education” major. Whhaaa? I don’t get it, especially since she was the advisor for that. Oh, who knows? She was still helpful! She told me what classes I needed to start taking. She said if I wanted to finish on time, I’d have to start taking 4 classes every quarter. I really enjoy having three classes. They already fill up my stress levels. Haha! So how about that nice bomb threat? I hope that doesn’t happen again. I hated that my trips to class took even longer because the ways I usually go to class were closed off. Then there was the awesome rain to make my day even worse! I felt like I jumped into Mirror Lake today. My clothes were drenched. My shoes are soaked. I don’t have any other pair of shoes so I have no idea what I’m going to wear tomorrow. Oh and today was the day I decided to wear my mascara that ISN’T waterproof. I’ve just had a really off day.
Monday, November 15, 2010
Blog 54
I’m not sure how I feel about today. I know I didn’t do as well on my Spanish exam as I would have liked, but it’s over with and there isn’t anything I can do about it now. I went to visit our teacher during her office hours so she could give me some input on my Commonplace paper. I’m glad I went because she is always helpful and makes me feel not as stressed out about my papers and my grades. I talked with her and she said if I want to do revisions, I should just do revisions on my CP paper. As long as I do that and work on my extra comments, then I could possibly get an A in the class. That is SO AWESOME. My grade isn’t pleasing to see right now. Hopefully everything goes well. I’d be happy to have a B in this class, but let’s shoot for the A! I’ve been working on extra commenting. I have around 130 comments altogether now. I want to hit 200 and I think I will be able to if I take a day to do so every now and then. I need to get started on my final draft of my CP though so I don’t freak out about it on Thursday. I don’t want that at all. I need to stop procrastinating. I also have another paper due on Thursday too! I’m getting a headache stressing over school. So let’s talk about Christmas! I miss Christmas music. Since I’m up here, I don’t have a car and never get to hear it. It’s not the same listening to it online. But I did put up more Christmas lights this weekend! It looks so nice and I’m not even finished! Okay, I’m going to make me some food. BYE!
Saturday, November 13, 2010
Blog 53
Today is my baby brother’s birthday. He is thirteen and I cannot believe it. He is still my “baby” brother. It’s weird that he’s actually growing up and maturing. I used to not be able to have “deep” conversations with him about things because he didn’t understand or care yet, but now I can talk to him and it’s SO weird! I’m just not ready for him to grow up. That little buttmunch is taller than I am. He’s still really good at acting like a baby though. He is also extremely spoiled—more spoiled than me and my sisters because he’s the last child and he’s the only boy. I’ll admit that sometimes I get a bit jealous of how my parents and sister treat him verses how they treat me, but it doesn’t make me evil. For instance, I’ve been wearing the same shoes for 3 years. He got two new pairs of shoes for school and a new pair of basketball shoes. When I was growing up, I remember having to wear hand-me-down shoes. I just hope he doesn’t become materialistic. The boy has more clothes than I do. :p He’s a good brother though. He’s really hilarious and very smart.
Does anyone else think that the middle child syndrome exists? I feel like I go through it. I can see how the oldest, Vanessa, and the youngest, Billy, are treated differently than the middle kids, me and Amanda. My parents don’t see it. I don’t know. It’s something that I’ve always struggled with, even though I know my parents do love me.
Does anyone else think that the middle child syndrome exists? I feel like I go through it. I can see how the oldest, Vanessa, and the youngest, Billy, are treated differently than the middle kids, me and Amanda. My parents don’t see it. I don’t know. It’s something that I’ve always struggled with, even though I know my parents do love me.
Blog 52
My Friday was alright. My dad picked me up to go home and halfway home my sister calls me to tell me that she needs my buckID for the football game today (Saturday.) That was a big bummer. I didn’t get home until 7 because we had to turn around and go back to Cbus. My boyfriend came over to see me even though I was ridiculously tired. We watched Jumanji. I haven’t watched that in so long! I remember watching it when I was little and it scared me. I would definitely not be as brave as the kids were in that movie. Does anyone remember this movie? I guess I’m a bit of a realist so when it comes to…well, anything. So when I was watching it, I was like…how is that happening!? Who is playing the drums? How is that game making sounds? That’s not possible! So, it makes me sad that I don’t really have an imagination, or that I don’t use it. But it was a good movie!
It’s funny that the quarter is coming to the end and I wish I had more time! I have a Spanish exam on Monday! I have our CP paper due Thursday! I have to complete my production book and memorize my lines for my play on Thursday! AHHH. It’s coming way too fast! I hate feeling like I don’t have enough time to finish my homework assignments. I’m still excited for Christmas break! It means I’m closer to the end of this school year and closer to summer. That means I’m closer to graduating! I can’t wait until I graduate. Columbus will never feel like home to me.
Thursday, November 11, 2010
Blog 51
I’m going to do this next blog early. I had a good Veteran’s Day. I actually did some homework and I was able to clean my apartment! I had to meet up with my theatre group so we could work on performing our play. After we got done, I hung out with one of my group members named Nate. He’s a really cool dude! I’m happy that I’ve actually made a friend that I can hang out with outside of class. We did homework together, got some food to eat, and then he drove me home. Funny that it took until my second year to make a friend, but it’s all good! Wednesday night I went to watch a play called On the Shore of the Wide World. I had already read the play in class. It took less than an hour to read it. The play ended up lasting 2 and a half hours long. I kept spacing. It was kind of boring. It ended at 10pm and I didn’t get back to my apartment until 11. Silly me took the wrong bus. It eventually got me to the union though so I could then hop on the ER. The play bored me so much that I fell asleep right after I got to my apartment. Well, I finished all of my blog commenting a few days ago. That’s exciting! I need to start working on extra credit comments, though. Oh, I’m a bit lazy at the moment. Could anyone tell me when we’re supposed to email Leslie and let her know that we’re doing revisions? I forget what date we have to do it by. Thanks! Night!
Wednesday, November 10, 2010
Blog 50
I just came back from a Spanish conversation I had in Hagerty with a “teacher.” One of his students joined the conversation, not to practice Spanish but to suck up to the teacher. One of the teachers roommates also joined! It was one of the worst things I had to sit through in a while. He was the jocky teacher who wants everyone to like him because he thinks he’s cool, but isn’t afraid to make fun of you to make others laugh.
I hated every minute of it. He was supposed to have a conversation with me over the Chapters I’m learning so I can practice what I’ve been learning, right? Well all he and his friends talked about was sports, sports, and more sports. They also talked bad about people. When the teacher finally asked me a few questions so I could join in the conversation, his friend would interrupt and make fun of me because I’m not as fluent in Spanish as they are. They all didn’t care to make fun of me if I stumbled on a few words. I probably talked a good 7 minutes out of the whole 45. I’m so glad that’s over with and I don’t have to go back. I’m just really fed up with teachers! If you want that profession then DO your job! It doesn’t help to make fun of students or to talk about sports and going out to clubs and being stuck up.
I have to fill out this sheet to get extra credit for this Spanish conversation. All I have to do is write an 8-10 sentence summary in Spanish about what we talked about. This should be fun.
I hated every minute of it. He was supposed to have a conversation with me over the Chapters I’m learning so I can practice what I’ve been learning, right? Well all he and his friends talked about was sports, sports, and more sports. They also talked bad about people. When the teacher finally asked me a few questions so I could join in the conversation, his friend would interrupt and make fun of me because I’m not as fluent in Spanish as they are. They all didn’t care to make fun of me if I stumbled on a few words. I probably talked a good 7 minutes out of the whole 45. I’m so glad that’s over with and I don’t have to go back. I’m just really fed up with teachers! If you want that profession then DO your job! It doesn’t help to make fun of students or to talk about sports and going out to clubs and being stuck up.
I have to fill out this sheet to get extra credit for this Spanish conversation. All I have to do is write an 8-10 sentence summary in Spanish about what we talked about. This should be fun.
Tuesday, November 9, 2010
Blog 49
What happens to our blogger when we’re done with English? Are some of us going to keep writing in it? Or are we going to disable them? I think it’d be neat if we actually wrote in them once in a while to see how everyone’s doing. Then again, I’m sure we’ll be busy with other things. So, it most likely won’t happen.
So, I’m getting an early blog in. I was commenting on some blogs but now I’m a tad bit bored with that so I thought I might as well get tomorrow’s blog out of the way! I was so pumped to have Thursday off but I have to meet with my Theatre group to work on our project. Bummer, right? But I rather have an A than some relaxation time! I’m sure it won’t last long and it’s probably better that I’ll be productive.
I think writing is a real confidence killer for me. Getting graded on what I write makes me doubt myself. I think that’s why I don’t enjoy writing. I hate when people stab me in the face with negative comments. I guess it’s good to have feedback but it makes me feel like I’m the worst writer in the whole wide world. I thought it would be impossible for me to fail English. Well, apparently I suck at it. So I’m doing some extra credit..ing. Yes. I realized that I’d only have to do 10 extra comments to get a whopping 5.5 points. It’s crazy that I’d have to do 90 more to get the other half. Wait. Am I doing it that right? Is she counting the comments we already have? I know she said in class if we did 200 comments total, divided it by 100, and multiplied it by 5 then we would get 10 extra credit points. Or am I wrong? Did she mean 200 MORE comments? Or 200 altogether? Well, now I am just confused. Well poop.
So, I’m getting an early blog in. I was commenting on some blogs but now I’m a tad bit bored with that so I thought I might as well get tomorrow’s blog out of the way! I was so pumped to have Thursday off but I have to meet with my Theatre group to work on our project. Bummer, right? But I rather have an A than some relaxation time! I’m sure it won’t last long and it’s probably better that I’ll be productive.
I think writing is a real confidence killer for me. Getting graded on what I write makes me doubt myself. I think that’s why I don’t enjoy writing. I hate when people stab me in the face with negative comments. I guess it’s good to have feedback but it makes me feel like I’m the worst writer in the whole wide world. I thought it would be impossible for me to fail English. Well, apparently I suck at it. So I’m doing some extra credit..ing. Yes. I realized that I’d only have to do 10 extra comments to get a whopping 5.5 points. It’s crazy that I’d have to do 90 more to get the other half. Wait. Am I doing it that right? Is she counting the comments we already have? I know she said in class if we did 200 comments total, divided it by 100, and multiplied it by 5 then we would get 10 extra credit points. Or am I wrong? Did she mean 200 MORE comments? Or 200 altogether? Well, now I am just confused. Well poop.
Blog 48
So I totally went through “freshman fifteen” last year. Well, I didn’t gain 15 pounds, but I did put on some weight. It was hard to keep it off, with all the stress and using my entire meal plan. I don’t have to worry about the meal plan affecting my weight this year, but I’m still a little nervous about my eating habits. I’m not big on running or exercising. The majority of my exercise is walking to and from class. I didn’t have this problem in high school because I participated in sports and other activities. I was always keeping myself busy, but I just feel really crappy and lazy now. I live a good 25 minutes away from campus so I don’t even consider going to the gym. Any suggestions? I don’t want to go through “sophomore fifteen more” this year. I spend most of my time in my apartment doing school work and I don’t know any meals I should start cooking that aren’t ridiculously unhealthy. I recently started drinking green tea. I know that’s good for you. I stopped drinking pop a while ago and have started drinking it again so I’m trying to get away from that. I don’t know. I just like the summers because I don’t have all the stress of school following me and I go do things! I ride my bike! I play sports! I walk my doggies. I do things! It’s great because I don’t feel so icky and unhealthy!
You guys think I should sign up for a fun class? I was actually thinking about doing badminton or ice skating. I don’t know which classes are actually open for winter but I was thinking maybe it would make me feel better. Have any of you taken one of those classes? I’m a little nervous about signing up. They seem so much fun though!
You guys think I should sign up for a fun class? I was actually thinking about doing badminton or ice skating. I don’t know which classes are actually open for winter but I was thinking maybe it would make me feel better. Have any of you taken one of those classes? I’m a little nervous about signing up. They seem so much fun though!
Monday, November 8, 2010
Blog 47: Signing up for classes
I spent my whole day signing up for classes. I’m just now getting started on homework. I mean, signing up for classes isn’t a big deal, unless you don’t have a major. I was planning on going through with nursing but I felt like I was only doing it for the money. It was a rough day for me. I got so frustrated when trying to sign up, I cried like a big baby. My big sister Vanessa calmed me down and spoke with me. We ended talking about majors and I think I want to do early childhood education. I mean, the material would definitely be more relaxed and when given the opportunity to be around young kids, I’ve done great. I feel so much better now that I have a direction I want to go. Plus I get summers off! Yippee!!! So I’m taking Astronomy 161, Anthropology 202?, and History 151. I’m not quite sure on the exact numbers and I’m too lazy to look it up, but I plan on scheduling a meeting tomorrow morning with the education advisors to see if they approve and what to do to apply to the school. I’m pretty sure it’ll be a piece of cake. Then I can schedule an education class in there! I still can’t believe I spent all day signing up for classes. Sheesh. It stressed me out so much that I haven’t had a single thing to eat yet. Well, don’t forget we don’t have classes on Thursday! YAY! 32 more days!
Sunday, November 7, 2010
Blog 46
I’m so excited for Christmas! It’s been a good amount of years that I haven’t been showing my “Christmas” spirit, but I can tell that this year is going to be completely different. I put some Christmas lights up already. I know, it’s waaayy too early but it’s not like I’m going to plug them in and light them up until after Thanksgiving. Next weekend, I think I’ll put some more up! I’m so excited! When I was in middle school, I used to love putting lights up. My mom and I would go all out and compete with the neighbors on decorating for Christmas. Then I got older and lazier and so we stopped. But I’m so glad I have the urge to decorate again! My mom said she would even help me, like old times!
I spent almost all day outside. We are working on our garage so we can build rooms in it and eventually build a room connecting to our house. I don’t know when it will get finished. It probably won’t any time soon, but it’s great having projects like this. It gives my family much more time to bond and be together.
Okay. Well, I’m going to finish this up. I still have to shower and go to town to buy some groceries! I have none in my apartment. Ugh, it’s no fun shopping when you have to spend your own money. And then I have to go all the way back to Columbus! I’m in Chillicothe right now, which is an hour and a half away. I always go home every weekend. But I’m so glad we gained an hour! I feel like today’s been extremely productive AND I still have an hour more to get stuff done. Have a nice night, guys!
I spent almost all day outside. We are working on our garage so we can build rooms in it and eventually build a room connecting to our house. I don’t know when it will get finished. It probably won’t any time soon, but it’s great having projects like this. It gives my family much more time to bond and be together.
Okay. Well, I’m going to finish this up. I still have to shower and go to town to buy some groceries! I have none in my apartment. Ugh, it’s no fun shopping when you have to spend your own money. And then I have to go all the way back to Columbus! I’m in Chillicothe right now, which is an hour and a half away. I always go home every weekend. But I’m so glad we gained an hour! I feel like today’s been extremely productive AND I still have an hour more to get stuff done. Have a nice night, guys!
Saturday, November 6, 2010
Blog 45
Okay, I’m pretty sure today’s blog is free writing. I hope so or I’ll feel stupid. I’m not sure what to blog about. I'm writing it pretty quick so randomness will happen. Sorry! I am just busy, busy, busy! Anyways, I asked my sister what I should write about and she said how I bury my fish when they die. Most people flush their fishies down the toilet when they die, but I actually go outside and give them a nice funeral. I get sad when any of my pets are in pain, dying, and/or die. When my first fish died, my father told me to flush it down the toilet, because that’s what a lot of people do, right? Well, I refused. How come my poor fishie had to go down the toilet and not be buried in the ground with my other pets that had passed away? I used to have a hen as a pet when I was little. She had died one morning. I think it was because she was getting old. Well, my sister and I dug a hole and placed her in it. We said our goodbyes and covered her up. We always step on the dirt so no animals will dig them out. Well, when I went to step on the dirt over her, she started making noise. I thought she was alive and I was in shock. I was stepping on my poor chicken and she can’t breathe! Amanda then explained that it was just the air coming out of her. What a confused little girl I was. :p
Friday, November 5, 2010
Blog 44
It was nice seeing your opinions on my title. Some of you judged the topic more than the title, but hey, that’s all right. Although most of you liked that my title, Accepting Homosexuality, was interesting and intriguing, you also said it was boring which doesn’t make sense. :P But it’s all good! I already knew it was a bit bland. One of the top suggestions was: Somewhere Over the Rainbow. I thought that was cute! Kudos for you! A funny suggestion was: Hot Girl on Girl Action. I’m guessing a guy wrote this. While it was funny and sparks a person’s interest, I don’t think it’ll fit well with my paper. But thanks for the suggestions you guys!
So, I finally picked a title and revised...well, tweaked my intro. Hope you enjoy it! Tell me what you think.
"All Men Are Created Equal--Unless You're Gay"
We all have them: those childhood memories we aren’t supposed to bring up ever again. Well, right here, right now, I’m going to share mine with you. When I was a little girl, around seven years old, I recall visiting my Aunt Candy's house for dinner. She lived with a woman named “Shauna,” but I never questioned her relationship with Shauna beyond housemates. As I looked around at pictures and trinkets that consumed their shelf space, I remember being perplexed over a particular photograph. In it, there was a crowd comprised of family and friends surrounding my Aunt Candy and Shauna. They were clad in white and embracing, so I knew something about the picture was special. Confused, I shouted: "Mommy! They're kissing! Girls don't kiss each other!" Awkwardness ensued for the rest of the day. This photo was their wedding union. My mother tried her best to hush my curiosity, but that in no way stifled the obvious questions that, as an inquisitive child, I wanted and needed answered. My parents tried to answer all of my questions: Are girls allowed to kiss? How come we didn't go to the wedding? Is Shauna my aunt? Is Aunt Candy my uncle? This last question was sadly a question I needed answered due to misinformation and a lack of understanding of the world that surrounded me. I thought this because my aunt carries the more masculine features, and I was used to heterosexual couple characteristics. Reflecting on this personal memory allows me to reconsider its implications.
So, I finally picked a title and revised...well, tweaked my intro. Hope you enjoy it! Tell me what you think.
"All Men Are Created Equal--Unless You're Gay"
We all have them: those childhood memories we aren’t supposed to bring up ever again. Well, right here, right now, I’m going to share mine with you. When I was a little girl, around seven years old, I recall visiting my Aunt Candy's house for dinner. She lived with a woman named “Shauna,” but I never questioned her relationship with Shauna beyond housemates. As I looked around at pictures and trinkets that consumed their shelf space, I remember being perplexed over a particular photograph. In it, there was a crowd comprised of family and friends surrounding my Aunt Candy and Shauna. They were clad in white and embracing, so I knew something about the picture was special. Confused, I shouted: "Mommy! They're kissing! Girls don't kiss each other!" Awkwardness ensued for the rest of the day. This photo was their wedding union. My mother tried her best to hush my curiosity, but that in no way stifled the obvious questions that, as an inquisitive child, I wanted and needed answered. My parents tried to answer all of my questions: Are girls allowed to kiss? How come we didn't go to the wedding? Is Shauna my aunt? Is Aunt Candy my uncle? This last question was sadly a question I needed answered due to misinformation and a lack of understanding of the world that surrounded me. I thought this because my aunt carries the more masculine features, and I was used to heterosexual couple characteristics. Reflecting on this personal memory allows me to reconsider its implications.
Thursday, November 4, 2010
Blog 43
I know it’s good to revise and such, but it’s a bummer we already have to revise our rough draft and have another copy by…Tuesday? Really? I wish we could get some feedback on them first, you know? So, I’m not doing as well as I’d like in English. Bummer. I plan to do all the blogs and a few extra blogs but it just seems like a huge load. I want to do at least 50 extra because 7.5 points sounds pretty cool to me, but ugh! I just want them to make up for the points I lost on my rough drafts. I plan on doing revisions. This end of the quarter is looking pretty busy to me. Did the board today say we have to revise our title and intro for tomorrow’s blog? I like my intro. It’s my personal anecdote, but I’m sure I can figure something out.
So I used to live in Morrison Tower on the 7th floor. My dorm was a three person room so we had windows facing the street with an awesome view. I really miss that. The view I have in my apartment now is a brick wall. It’s really disappointing always having a dark apartment. I wish I could see outside. I can’t ever tell what the weather will be like and I don’t get to see cars driving by or people walking by. I feel like I’m in a prison cell. That is definitely one thing I miss about my dorm room. I wonder who’s living in there now. I can still picture how everything was placed in it. I guess you could say I’m still a little attached. Sometimes when I get out of class, I start walking in the direction of South campus and then realize I live In East Residential. But the plus side is that I don’t have to share a public bathroom! And I have a kitchen where I can cook! The walls are really thick so I never have to worry about singing ridiculously loud and making my neighbors angry. And I don’t have to worry about noisy neighbors! Well, a nap is calling my name. Peace!
So I used to live in Morrison Tower on the 7th floor. My dorm was a three person room so we had windows facing the street with an awesome view. I really miss that. The view I have in my apartment now is a brick wall. It’s really disappointing always having a dark apartment. I wish I could see outside. I can’t ever tell what the weather will be like and I don’t get to see cars driving by or people walking by. I feel like I’m in a prison cell. That is definitely one thing I miss about my dorm room. I wonder who’s living in there now. I can still picture how everything was placed in it. I guess you could say I’m still a little attached. Sometimes when I get out of class, I start walking in the direction of South campus and then realize I live In East Residential. But the plus side is that I don’t have to share a public bathroom! And I have a kitchen where I can cook! The walls are really thick so I never have to worry about singing ridiculously loud and making my neighbors angry. And I don’t have to worry about noisy neighbors! Well, a nap is calling my name. Peace!
Wednesday, November 3, 2010
Blog 42
I just wanted to let you guys know that we have 39 days until Winter break! This is until December 10th by the way so it may be less AND it’s including the weekends! I’m so excited! I love having breaks. I’m also excited for Thanksgiving. My family is cooking at our house and we invited other family and friends to join us. My mom always cooks delicious foods! She makes homemade noodles and mashed potatoes! Yum! And she cooks a turkey and ham. We have other dishes as well, but those are obviously the top foods on the table. I have this problem on Thanksgiving where I eat, get full, get bored, eat again, ALREADY FULL, get bored, eat again. Anyone know what I mean? It’s just the day where my body wants to eat all the time. I can’t help it. All that food stares at me! So I talked with my mother last night and she said she bought a really nice Christmas tree at a yard sale for 10 bucks I think? She said it’s really pretty and it’s 9 foot tall. I have no idea where she is going to put it. I don’t even know if our living room is 9 foot tall! But she’s my mother and she will find a way, as usual. She said we could put it up on the Friday after Thanksgiving! I always love putting up the tree. We used to do it as a family but I usually end up putting it up by myself with someone else’s help. I even put up my grandma’s tree. She lives next door so I help her out a lot. So as you can tell, I have a fake tree. Which do you guys prefer? I’ve never had a real tree but I really like the “fake” ones. We always get fake trees and people think they look real so it’s always a win!
Tuesday, November 2, 2010
Blog 41
Well, in Theatre class today we have to form groups and write a play and perform it. We just discussed our ideas on what we want to perform and the teacher has already made a rough draft due on Thursday. We were even missing a member in our group. I hate when people do that. I know that in some cases, people do miss class because of emergencies but who knows? The show must go on. The crappy thing about this Theatre project is that my group only has time to meet up with each other on the weekends. I go home every weekend. So that’s a real bummer but I am willing to be responsible and dependable for my group, and more importantly, my grade.
So I didn’t vote today. I am sorry for whoever is now mad at me for not doing so. I never really cared about politics and such. My father said I’ll start caring when I have to worry about money. He wanted me to vote but I didn’t do any research about anything. I’d feel horrible voting for someone I didn’t know anything about. Plus I’m not registered, but I plan to do some voting in the future!
You know, I didn’t know sites like hulu.com existed until this English class. I’m really glad I found out about it though! I love watching television but I don’t have any because that costs money. I miss it terribly. Hulu.com makes me feel better about that situation because I can still watch some shows! Well, it’s about time for my nap! Bye.
So I didn’t vote today. I am sorry for whoever is now mad at me for not doing so. I never really cared about politics and such. My father said I’ll start caring when I have to worry about money. He wanted me to vote but I didn’t do any research about anything. I’d feel horrible voting for someone I didn’t know anything about. Plus I’m not registered, but I plan to do some voting in the future!
You know, I didn’t know sites like hulu.com existed until this English class. I’m really glad I found out about it though! I love watching television but I don’t have any because that costs money. I miss it terribly. Hulu.com makes me feel better about that situation because I can still watch some shows! Well, it’s about time for my nap! Bye.
Monday, November 1, 2010
Blog 40
Today is just one of those days. I’ve been in bed since I finished class for the day. I think I’m getting sick so I’m glad we don’t have class tomorrow so I can get some sleep. Hopefully I will start feeling better sometime soon!
Last night was a pain in my butt. My computer has been acting funky. Last night after I posted my blog, my internet stopped working. I had connection but it wouldn’t let me use it. I wanted to smash my computer with a hammer. It made me very upset and worried that I wouldn’t have a computer this week. Amanda, my sister, is good with fixing computers but it’s not much help if she’s not around to look at it. So, this morning I woke up and messed with it for another hour. I finally got it to work which led to a big sigh of relief! My other sister, Vanessa also helped me fix another problem I’m having with it. Whenever I would go to search engines like yahoo.com or google.com and I would search something and click on the link, it would take me to some spam website. It’s fixed though! I need to buy some anti-virus software though. Anyone have any suggestions? Can I get any of that from campus with a student discount? I thought someone told me that before. Oh, and I promise I haven’t been looking at bad websites and I don’t download stuff! My family keeps making jokes about that. It’s funny, but not true. :P
Okay, well I’m going to order some Dominos with Amanda. Today is a poopy day and hopefully yummy food will make me feel better!
Last night was a pain in my butt. My computer has been acting funky. Last night after I posted my blog, my internet stopped working. I had connection but it wouldn’t let me use it. I wanted to smash my computer with a hammer. It made me very upset and worried that I wouldn’t have a computer this week. Amanda, my sister, is good with fixing computers but it’s not much help if she’s not around to look at it. So, this morning I woke up and messed with it for another hour. I finally got it to work which led to a big sigh of relief! My other sister, Vanessa also helped me fix another problem I’m having with it. Whenever I would go to search engines like yahoo.com or google.com and I would search something and click on the link, it would take me to some spam website. It’s fixed though! I need to buy some anti-virus software though. Anyone have any suggestions? Can I get any of that from campus with a student discount? I thought someone told me that before. Oh, and I promise I haven’t been looking at bad websites and I don’t download stuff! My family keeps making jokes about that. It’s funny, but not true. :P
Okay, well I’m going to order some Dominos with Amanda. Today is a poopy day and hopefully yummy food will make me feel better!
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)