Sunday, December 5, 2010

Blog 75

Dear students of English 110,

If you are reading this right now, then that means you’re starting your journey of science fiction and blogging. Have fun with that. Haha I’m just messin’ with you. I’m supposed to tell you how I’ve developed as a writer, but I can’t say that I have completely developed into at least a ‘good’ writer. I’m still working on my writing skills, but Leslie did help me with my skills in a few ways. With the blogs, I have been able to lengthen my papers. Sometimes that’s a good thing, and other times, not quite so much. But I used to be the type of person that would sit down, get ready to start writing my paper, and completely freeze up. Another thing that helped was watching the show called Firefly. For this class, I was assigned to write in my blog about my thoughts of the show—not just summarizing it. Summarizing is a piece of cake, right? Well, analyzing a show is now easy too. Blogging helped a lot. Even though I admit that I whined a few times about them (Okay! Okay!! It was like 5 times..gosh!), blogging turned out to help me positively, especially when it came to easy points and extra credit.

Also, give science fiction shows a chance. The quarter will go by faster if you just watch it and get it over with. Try looking at it positively so writing blogs and papers about it won’t be painful. I was not a science fiction fan at all, and I can say that I’m not completely one still. But I had an open mind, and I actually came to enjoy Firefly more than I expected. I watched ALL of the episodes even though I didn’t have to.

Keep up with your blogging. Write them every day and pace yourself with the comments. Don’t wait until the last minute. It is awesome knowing that you have completed your 100 comments extremely early. I just sat down and wrote as many in one sitting as I could. I did about 20 a day sometimes, and they added up fast. And please don’t wait until the last minute to do your papers. I did that quite a few times, and the grade I received was a bummer. It wasn’t bad, but I could have done better if I had taken more time and visited Leslie during her office hours more. Speaking of office hours, USE THEM. Leslie is more than helpful when you go. It will take much stress off of you if you’re the type of person that doesn’t enjoy writing like I do.

So good luck and work hard, because you will receive the grade you DESERVE in the end.

Sarah

Blog 74

How do I feel about science fiction now as compared to when I first started this class? Well, I do give any science fiction shows a chance rather than judging it and saying that I will completely not like it. I can say that my favorite that I have had to watch was Firefly. I did try to give Battlestar Galactica and Caprica a chance and they weren’t all that bad. They still didn’t please me enough to want to watch them more though. But I’m not as judgmental and I can find good parts in them! So I guess what I’m trying to say is that I don’t completely whine and put on a disgusted face when someone says, “Hey! We’re going to be watching [insert science fiction movie/show title here!]” I really, really, really, reaaaaally enjoyed Firefly though. I’m really glad that Leslie introduced it to us. I’m pretty sure it’s one of my favorite shows and I am surprised at myself that I haven’t watched the movie for it yet. I will watch it someday. Firefly is one of the reasons I will probably not shoot down science fiction shows. I wish there were more shows like Firefly. Honestly, I wouldn’t choose to watch science fiction though. I would probably still choose comedy. I tried watching Buffy the Vampire Slayer and it didn’t work out. I’m rambling and running out of things to say. All I can talk about is Firefly so I guess that should tell you how I feel about science fiction……

Saturday, December 4, 2010

Blog 73

Yesterday, my dog got loose. My parents do not like animals in the house so I have to keep my doggies outside. It makes me sad but what can I do? I wish more than anything that they didn’t have to be chained up. Anyways, my dog Biscuit doesn't do well with my Aunt Toby's dog "Bear." She lives next door. The last three times Biscuit as gotten loose, he runs straight over and starts attacking Bear. We got lucky and another neighbor’s dog ran over and distracted Biscuit from attacking Bear. We also got lucky that his chain was still on him.

It frightens me and makes me think we should put our dog down. I checked on Bear and he is okay. He’s a large dog and handled him well, but that doesn’t make what Biscuit did to him okay. It seems like my Aunt Toby didn't even care. It’s sad that I'm more concerned about her dog than her and her family is. I love my animals but I'm afraid that I cannot trust them anymore--especially my two large sized dogs. They both aren't socialized enough to do well with other animals or with people that they do not know well. I'm terrified that Biscuit will get loose and kill Bear one day when no one is home to stop him. I think that he should be put down for safety reasons, but my sister Amanda gets mad at the thought of that because she thinks that he is HER dog. He is my dog as well though. I would be extremely upset but I’m concerned for people as well as other animals. I don’t know what he will do. Biscuit has never attacked another animal except for Bear, so how can I trust that he won’t hurt someone or something else?

What are your opinions?

Friday, December 3, 2010

Blog 72: Piercing gone wrong.

What a week I have had. I had a hard time sleeping this week. After class, my sleepiness and tiredness would kick in but I couldn’t get myself to fall asleep for a nap. I would just lay in bed for, what seemed like, forever. So I would eventually fall asleep around 3 or 4 and wake up for class at 8. So I did get enough sleep to function. I’m just used to sleeping 8+ hours and that’s why I felt so tired. So yesterday, I was planning on trying to go to bed early but that didn’t happen at all. I was about to go to bed, but remembered that I had to clean the piercing I got on the top of my ear. It recently got infected and yesterday the skin decided to grow over my earring. It’s like a barbell earring so the ball behind my ear is the one that got trapped. I then immediately freaked out, started crying, and tried to push it out. I couldn’t so I called my mom and she came up to help me along with my sister Vanessa and my brother Billy. It was 10pm after I got off the phone with my mommy and home is an hour and a half away. When they got to my apartment, my mom tried for a good while to get it out and then Vanessa tried. They then tag-teamed and got the ball to pierce through the infected skin. It was the worst pain that I’ve ever had seeing how it was just a ball ripping my skin open, not a pointy object. And the fact that it took them 2 hours to do so didn’t help ease the pain. After that, they took about 15 minutes trying to unhook the barbell. My ear was swollen so even barely touching it hurt. But all is good! They got it out in two hours and my mom cleaned and medicated it. And since I wasn’t feeling well I decided to go home since I only had one class today and it was review. I’m really thankful that even though they had to get up early, they came to help me and were there for me. We ended up getting home at around 2:30am and my mommy let me sleep in her oh-so-comfy bed. It’s honestly the most comfortable bed I’ve ever slept in. Then when I woke up my mommy made me breakfast. Oh and my piercing has already closed! So guys, make sure if you get piercings you keep an eye on them so you don’t have to go through the same experience. I’m so glad to have it out and take it as a learning experience.

Thursday, December 2, 2010

Blog 71

Today‘s blog is obviously about Caprica. I’m not sure how I feel about it. I can tell I liked it more than Battlestar Galactica because I was able to pay more attention to it. Again, the room settings caused me to not fully understand a few scenes that went on and sitting in the back didn’t help seeing that it was harder to hear, especially through typing noises. I guess the reason why I have a hard time really enjoying Science Fiction is because I tend to lack an imagination and I really enjoy comedy. That’s why it didn’t feel like a chore watching Firefly. Even though I didn’t loooove Caprica, I’m still wondering how everything ends. I’m wondering what will happen to Zoey. I wonder if there’s a twist and she is actually a human or if she will always simply be a virtual copy of the real Zoey. Okay, I have some questions. What were Zoey and her friends planning on doing? I really didn’t understand that. I knew that Zoey was smart when it came to computers but for some reason I had no idea that the boy was going to blow up that metro/subway thing. Can anyone explain that to me? Was this their plan or did the boy turn psycho? Also, what was up with that virtual night club? That club was for teenagers? Did Zoey make it or can other teens use it? Do all the kids have those “visual/virtual” glasses? I wish I knew more about that because if more kids had them, why would parents allow it? I don’t know. These shows tend to confuse me.